The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Pensacola, Florida

Mayors of Pensacola, 1820-2019 (may be incomplete!)
Jose Noriega 1820-21 George Bowie 1821-22 John de la Rua 1822-23 Peter Alba 1823-25 John Jerrison 1825-28 Benjamin D. Wright 1828-29 John Jerrison 1829-30 Peter Alba 1830-34 Charles Evans 1834-38 Hanson Kelly 1838-40 Charles LeBaron 1840-41 Benjamin D. Wright 1841-42 Charles Evans 1842-47 Francis de la Rua 1847-48 Charles Evans 1848-52 Joseph Sierra 1852-55 Francis B. Bobe 1855-59 C. Gonzalez 1859-61 C. H. Gingles 1861-62 Francis B. Bobe 1862-63 Samuel Leonard 1866-67 E. W. Anderson 1867-68 S. C. Cobb 1868-70 Frederick C. Humphreys 1870-73 Royal Putnam 1873-74 R. A. Stearns 1874-75 J. P. Jones 1875-77 R. A. Stearns 1877-78 Salvador Pons 1878-79 William M. Oerting 1879-81 George H. O'Neal 1881-82 J. M. Tarble 1882-83 George H. Welles 1883-85 S. S. Harvey 1885-86 A. L. Avery 1886-87 W. D. Chipley 1887-88 A. L. Avery 1888-90 J. M. Hilliard 1890-93 W. E. Anderson 1893-95 Pat McHugh 1895 W. E. Anderson 1895-97 W. H. Northrup 1897-99 J. M. Hilliard 1899-1901 C. M. Jones 1901-03 T. E. Welles 1903-05 Charles H. Bliss 1905-07 C. C. Goodman 1907-09 Frank Reilly 1909-13 A. Greenhut 1913-16 G. Heinrich 1916-17 Thomas H. Johnson 1917-18 S. M. Maguire 1918-19 F. D. Sanders 1919-21 J. H. Bayliss 1921-31 H. Clay Armstrong 1931-36 W. L. Moyer 1936 Max L. Bear 1936-37 L. C. Hagler 1937-43 Walter E. Wicke 1943-47 C. P. Mason 1947-57 Roy S. Philpot 1957-61 Charles H. Overman, Jr. 1961-63 C. P. Mason 1963-65 B. I. Greenhut 1965-67 Reinhardt Holm 1967 Charles Soule 1967-69 Bryant Liggett 1969-71 Eugene P. Elebash 1971-73 Barney B. Burkes 1973-77 Warren M. Briggs 1977-78 Vince Whibbs 1978-91 Jerry L. Maygarden 1991-94 John R. Fogg 1994-2009 Michael C. Wiggins 2009-11 Ashton Hayward III 2011-18 Grover C. Robinson IV 2018-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2008 Nov 4: Michael C. Wiggins, elected.

    Postmasters at Pensacola, 1874-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Zebulon Elijah 1874-78 Rix M. Robinson as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/FL/ofc/pensacola.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]