The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Key West, Florida

Mayors of Key West, 1832-2010 (may be incomplete!)
Oliver O'Hara 1832-33 Fielding A. Browne 1833-34 Adam Gordon 1834-35 Fielding A. Browne 1836-37 William A. Whitehead 1837-38 Tomaso Sachetti 1838-39 William C. Greene 1839-40 Philip J. Fontaine 1840-41 Alexander Patterson 1841-42 Philip J. Fontaine 1842-44 Benjamin Sawyer 1844-46 Walter C. Maloney 1846-49 Alexander Patterson 1849-52 Fernando J. Moreno 1852-53 John W. Porter 1853-55 William Curry 1855 Philip J. Fontaine 1855-56 Alexander Patterson 1856-57 John P. Baldwin 1857-61 William Marvin 1861 Alexander Patterson 1861-64 E. O. Gwynn 1864-65 Alexander Patterson 1865-66 William Marvin 1866 E. O. Gwynn 1866-67 Alexander Patterson 1867-68 William S. Allen 1868 D. W. Whitehurst 1868-69 Joseph B. Browne 1869-70 Henry Mulrennan 1870-71 William D. Cash 1871-72 Winer Bethel 1872-73 William S. Allen 1873-74 E. O. Gwynn 1874-75 Carlos M. de Cespedes 1875-76 Livingstone W. Bethel 1876-80 Robert Jasper Perry 1880-81 E. O. Gwynn 1881-82 William McClintock 1882-83 R. Alfred Monsalvatage 1883-85 James G. Jones 1885-86 J. W. V. R. Plummer 1886-88 James A. Waddell 1888-89 Walter C. Maloney, Jr. 1889-91 Robert Jasper Perry 1891-95 James A. Waddell 1895-97 John B. Maloney 1897-98 George L. Bartlum 1898-1903 Benjamin D. Trevor 1903-05 George L. Babcock 1905-07 Joseph N. Fogarty 1907-15 Norberg Thompson 1915-17 Allen B. Cleare 1917-19 Louis E. Otto 1919-21 Frank H. Ladd 1921-25 Leslie A. Curry 1925-32 William H. Malone 1933-35 Harry C. Galey 1935-37 Willard M. Albury 1937-45 William W. Demeritt 1945-47 A. Maitland Adams 1947-49 Hunter G. Harden 1948-49 Louis M. J. Eisner 1949-50 John Carbonell 1950-51 Louis M. J. Eisner 1951 C. B. Harvey 1951-57 Delio Cobo 1957-61 C. B. Harvey 1961-63 Kermit Lewin 1963-69 Delio Cobo 1969-71 Charles McCoy 1971-81 Dennis Wardlow 1981-83 Richard A. Heyman 1983-85 Tom Sawyer 1985-87 Richard A. Heyman 1987-89 Tony Tarracino 1989-91 Dennis Wardlow 1991-95 Tom Sawyer 1995 Dennis Wardlow 1995-97 Sheila Mullins 1997-99 Jimmy Weekley 1999-2005 Morgan McPherson 2005-09 Craig Cates 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1838 Jul 1: William A. Whitehead, resigned.
  • 1861 May 17: John P. Baldwin, removed.
  • 1869: Joseph B. Browne (Dem), elected; E. L. Ware (Rep), defeated.
  • 1877: Livingstone W. Bethel, elected; J. W. V. R. Plummer, defeated.
  • 1881 Oct 11: E. O. Gwynn, elected; George Fergson, defeated; George Warren, defeated.
  • 1887: J. W. V. R. Plummer, elected; George B. Patterson, defeated.
  • 1917 Nov 13: Allen B. Cleare, elected; Louis E. Otto, defeated.
  • 1919 Nov 15: Louis E. Otto, elected; E. E. Ingraham, defeated; James N. W. Bissell, defeated.
  • 1932 Dec 31: Leslie A. Curry, died in office.
  • 1935: Harry C. Galey, elected; William H. Malone, defeated.
  • 1945 Jul 8: Willard M. Albury, resigned.
  • 1991: Tony Tarracino, defeated.

    Postmasters at Key West, 1879-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    Jefferson B. Browne as of 1879 Louis E. Otto 1898-99 George B. Patterson 1899-1909 Charles S. Williams 1909-13 Marcy B. Darnall 1913-21 Clyde P. Stickney 1954-55 Clyde P. Stickney 1955-75

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/FL/ofc/keywest.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]