The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Jacksonville, Florida

Mayors of Jacksonville, 1846-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Joseph B. Lancaster as of 1846-47 Halstead H. Hoeg 1865-66 Holmes Steele 1866-67 John Clark 1867-68 Edward Hopkins 1868-70 Peter Jones 1870-73 Jonathan C. Greeley 1873-74 Peter Jones 1874-76 Luther McConihe 1876-77 W. Stokes Boyd 1877-78 Luther McConihe 1878-79 Peter Jones 1879-80 J. Ramsey Dey 1880-81 Morris A. Dzialynski 1881-83 W. McClaws Dan 1883-85 M. C. Rice 1885-86 Patrick McQuaid 1886-87 J. Q. Burbridge 1887 C. B. Smith 1887-88 Patrick McQuaid 1888-91 Henry Robinson 1891-93 Duncan U. Fletcher 1893-95 William M. Bostwick 1895-97 William D. Knight 1897-99 J. E. T. Bowden 1899-1901 Duncan U. Fletcher 1901-03 George M. Nolan 1903-06 William H. Baker 1906-07 William H. Sebring 1907-09 William S. Jordan 1909-13 Van C. Swearingen 1913-15 J. E. T. Bowden 1915-17 John W. Martin 1917-23 John T. Alsop, Jr. 1923-37 George C. Blume 1937-41 John T. Alsop, Jr. 1941-45 Frank Whitehead 1945-49 Haydon Burns 1949-65 Lou Ritter 1965-67 Hans Tanzler 1967-79 Jake Godbold 1979-87 Tommy Hazouri 1987-91 T. Edward Austin, Jr. 1991-95 John Delaney 1995-2003 John Peyton 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1893 Jul 18: Duncan U. Fletcher (Dem), elected; Morris A. Dzialynski (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1967: Lou Ritter, defeated.
  • 1979: Lex Hester, defeated; Jake Godbold, elected.
  • 1983: Jake Godbold, elected.
  • 1991: Tommy Hazouri, defeated.
  • 1995: Jake Godbold, defeated; Tommy Hazouri, defeated.
  • 2003: John Peyton (Rep), elected; Nat Glover (Dem), defeated.
  • 2007: John Peyton (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Jacksonville, 1824-1985 (may be incomplete!)
    John L. Dogget 1824-27 Isaiah D. Hart 1827-37 William B. Ross 1837-41 Rufus B. Gregory 1841 John M. Pons 1841-49 Mark Butts 1849-53 Charles M. Cooper 1853-54 William Grothe 1854-62 Calvin L. Robinson 1862-64 Edward H. Reed 1864-71 Charles Memorial Hamilton 1871-72 Edward M. Cheney 1872-74 John S. Adams 1874-76 Manuel Govin 1876-77 Hamilton Jay 1877-82 William M. Ledwith 1882-85 Harrison W. Clark 1885-89 Patrick E. McMurray 1889-93 Harrison W. Clark 1893-97 Dennis Eagan 1897-1902 Daniel T. Gerow 1902-14 Peter A. Dignan 1914-19 George L. Drew 1919-22 Herbert E. Ross 1922 Herbert E. Ross 1922-33 William D. Jones 1934 William D. Jones 1934-42 George C. Blume 1942 George C. Blume 1942-56 Huber C. Hurst 1956-61 James E. Workman, Jr. 1961-62 James E. Workman, Jr. 1962-85

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/FL/ofc/jacksonville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]