The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Wilmington, Delaware

Mayors of Wilmington, 1832-1996 (may be incomplete!)
Richard H. Bayard 1832-34 Nicholas G. Williamson 1834-43 David C. Wilson 1843-45 Alexander Porter 1845-48 William Huffington 1848-50 Joshua E. Driver 1850-51 Columbus P. Evans 1851-52 William Hemphill Jones 1852-53 John A. Alderdice 1853-54 James F. Heyward 1854-55 William B. Wiggins 1855-56 William Huffington 1856-57 George W. Sparks 1857-58 Thomas Young 1858-60 Vincent C. Gilpin 1860-63 John M. Turner 1863-65 Joshua Maris 1865-67 Joshua S. Valentine 1867-72 Joshua L. Simms 1872-75 William G. Whiteley 1875-78 John P. Allmond 1878-82 John P. Wales 1882-85 Calvin B. Rhoads 1885-87 S. J. Willey as of 1892 E. G. Shortridge 1893-94 George M. Fisher 1903 Charles D. Bird 1903 Horace Wilson 1905-07 Harrison W. Howell 1911-15 John W. Lawson as of 1919 William G. Taylor as of 1919 Frank C. Sparks 1931-33 William Speer 1933-35 Walter W. Bacon 1935-40 Albert W. James as of 1941-44 Joseph S. Wilson 1947-49 James F. Hearn 1949-53 August Walz as of 1954-55 Eugene Lammot 1957-60 John E. Babiarz 1961-69 Thomas C. Maloney as of 1973-77

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1872: Joshua L. Simms (Dem), elected; Edward J. Dougherty (Rep), defeated.
  • 1875: William G. Whiteley (Dem), elected; Joshua S. Valentine (Rep), defeated.
  • 1878 Sep 3: John P. Allmond (Dem), elected; Charles H. Gallagher (Rep), defeated; William A. Murphy (Greenback), defeated.
  • 1882 Jun 3: John P. Wales (Rep), elected; Joseph L. Carpenter (Dem), defeated.
  • 1885 Jun 6: Calvin B. Rhoads (Dem), elected; Henry C. Conrad (Rep), defeated.
  • 1893 Jun 3: E. G. Shortridge (Rep), elected; William B. Norton (Dem), defeated.
  • 1895 Jun 1: Charles R. Jefferies (Dem), elected; Jacob H. Lewis (Rep), defeated.
  • 1899 Jun 3: John C. Fahey (Dem), elected; George W. Bush (Rep), defeated.
  • 1903 Jun 6: Charles D. Bird (Dem), elected.
  • 1905 Jun 3: Horace Wilson (Rep), elected.
  • 1913 Jun 7: Harrison W. Howell (Rep), elected; Willard Springer (Dem), defeated; Francis I. du Pont (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1931 Jun 6: Frank C. Sparks (Rep), elected; Howard Duane (Dem), defeated.
  • 1933 Jun 3: William Speer (Dem), elected; Frank C. Sparks (Rep), defeated.
  • 1935 Jun 1: Walter W. Bacon (Rep), elected; William Speer (Dem), defeated.
  • 1937 Jun 5: Walter W. Bacon (Rep), elected; Albert W. Bird (Dem), defeated.
  • 1943 Jun 5: Albert W. James (Rep), elected; Henry George III (Dem), defeated.
  • 1949 Jun 4: James F. Hearn (Rep), elected; Philip A. Traynor (Dem), defeated.
  • 1951 Jun 2: James F. Hearn (Rep), elected; George Gray Thouron (Dem), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Eugene Lammot, elected.
  • 1964 Aug 15: John E. Babiarz (Dem), nominated; Eugene Lammot (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1964 Nov 3: John E. Babiarz (Dem), elected.
  • 1996 Sep 7: James H. Sills, Jr. (Dem), nominated; Loretta Walsh (Dem), defeated in primary; Robert F. Poppiti (Dem), defeated in primary; Brenda C. Phillips (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1996 Nov 5: James H. Sills, Jr. (Dem), elected; Bradley J. Zuber (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Wilmington, 1776-1974 (may be incomplete!)
    Jacob Broom 1776-92 John Webster 1792-94 Samuel Brynes 1794-96 Enoch Welsh 1796-98 Edward Gilpin 1798-1802 Joseph Bringhurst 1802-20 Nicholas G. Williamson 1820-41 Jacob Alrichs 1841-43 Nicholas G. Williamson 1843 William R. Sellars 1843-49 Henry H. J. Naff 1849-53 John McClung 1853-56 Henry F. Askew 1856-61 Arthur H. Grimshaw 1861-66 Joseph M. Barr 1866-69 James Lewis 1869-74 William M. Pyle 1874-82 William Y. Swiggett 1882-86 Robert H. Taylor 1886-90 Daniel F. Stewart 1890-94 Enoch Moore 1894-98 Hugh C. Browne 1898-1901 William H. Heald 1901-06 Henry C. Conrad 1906-09 M. Howard Jester 1909-13 James J. English 1913-23 LeRoy W. Hickman 1923-28 Alexander R. Abrahams 1928 Alexander R. Abrahams 1928-33 James J. Cahill 1933-34 James J. Cahill 1934-48 William Berl, Jr. 1948-50 William Berl, Jr. 1950-56 William J. McBlain 1956-57 August Walz 1957 August Walz 1957-74

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DE/ofc/wilmington.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]