The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Woodstock, Connecticut
including North Woodstock, South Woodstock, East Woodstock, West Woodstock, Woodstock Valley
First Selectmen, Postmasters

First Selectmen of Woodstock, 1888-1989 (may be incomplete!)
Stephen D. Skinner as of 1888 Hezekiah P. Hibbard as of 1901 F. Olin Chaffee as of 1904 Joseph Spalding as of 1909-10 Luther J. Leavitt as of 1911 Byron E. Eddy as of 1920 Byron W. Bates as of 1922

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: Douglas M. Cutler (Rep), elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Woodstock, 1901-77 (may be incomplete!)
    Jonah T. Morse as of 1901 Bailey J. Cornell 1939-49 William James Farber, Jr. 1949-50 William James Farber, Jr. 1950-77

    North Woodstock

    Postmasters at North Woodstock, 1829-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Amasa Carpenter 1829 Amasa Carpenter 1831-49 Ezra Child 1849-52 Caleb May 1852-53 Ezra Child 1853 Ezra C. May 1853-56 John E. Buckman 1856-61 Ezra C. May 1861-80 Hartwell Lyon 1880 Newton D. Skinner 1880-1901

    South Woodstock

    Postmasters at South Woodstock, 1901-80 (may be incomplete!)
    S. H. Phillips as of 1901 Michael L. White 1950-63 Doris P. Boivin 1963-65 Doris P. Boivin 1965-80

    East Woodstock

    Postmasters at East Woodstock, 1853-1987 (may be incomplete!)
    Caleb May 1853-56 Elisha Lyon 1856-61 Onesipherous Robbins 1861-72 George O. Robbins 1872-1901 Charles H. Cady 1966-68 Donald I. Harding 1968 Donald I. Harding 1968-87

    West Woodstock

    Postmasters at West Woodstock, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Edwin F. Perrin as of 1901

    Woodstock Valley

    Postmasters at Woodstock Valley, 1901-86 (may be incomplete!)
    Isaac P. Briggs as of 1901 Roland J. Demers 1963-86

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/woodstock.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]