The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Windham, Connecticut
including Willimantic, North Windham, South Windham
Mayors, First Selectmen, Postmasters, Wardens

Mayors of Windham, 2010-12 (may be incomplete!)
Ernest S. Eldridge as of 2010-12

First Selectmen of Windham, 1888-1989 (may be incomplete!)
J. Griffin Martin as of 1888 William N. Potter as of 1896-97 George Tiffany as of 1899 James M. Smith as of 1901-08 S. Arnold Peckham as of 1909-10 James J. Tew as of 1911 James M. Smith as of 1920-22 Ernest P. Chesbro as of 1926-27 Eugene H. Lewis as of 1947-50 Ralph R. Crosthwaite as of 1951-57

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1950 Oct 2: Ralph R. Crosthwaite (Rep), elected; Eugene H. Lewis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Daniel M. Lein (Rep), elected; Trenton E. Wright (Dem), defeated; Robert D. Gorgoglione, defeated.

    Postmasters at Windham, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    W. Swift as of 1901


    Mayors of Willimantic, 1894-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    George M. Harrington as of 1894-95 Herbert R. Chappell as of 1896-97 Oscar O. Tanner as of 1904 Daniel P. Dunn as of 1909-11 Daniel P. Dunn as of 1917 Charles A. Gates as of 1918-22 John C. Tracy as of 1926-27 Charles A. Gates as of 1928-29 Walter R. King as of 1930-31 James H. Hurley as of 1932-35 Pierre J. Laramee as of 1937 Pierre J. Laramee as of 1940-41 Russell W. Hinman as of 1943 Andrew J. Carey, Sr. as of 1947-49 F. J. Bergeron as of 1950-57 David J. Calchera as of 1975

    Wardens of Willimantic, 1888 (may be incomplete!)
    John M. Alpaugh as of 1888

    Postmasters at Willimantic, 1825-1984 (may be incomplete!)
    Henry Hall 1825-26 Guy W. Hebard 1826-36 Roswell Moulton 1836-43 Lloyd E. Baldwin 1843-45 Joshua B. Lord 1845-49 William L. Weaver 1849 James H. Work 1849-53 Thomas Campbell 1853-57 William H. Hosmer 1857-61 James Walden 1861-69 John Brown 1869-81 James Walden 1881-85 Henry W. Wales 1885-90 Charles N. Daniels 1890-94 Joel W. Webb 1894-95 Melvin E. Lincoln 1895-99 Charles H. Dimmick 1899-1915 John O'Rourke 1915-24 Walter R. King 1924-25 Frank M. Smith 1925-26 Frank M. Smith 1926-35 James J. Lee 1935-63 William Gurnick 1963-64 Adolph J. Wojick 1964-65 Adolph J. Wojick 1965-84

    North Windham

    Postmasters at North Windham, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    D. E. Lyon as of 1901

    South Windham

    Postmasters at South Windham, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    George Hatch as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/windham.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]