The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Vernon, Connecticut
including Rockville, Vernon Center, Talcottville
Mayors, First Selectmen, Postmasters

Mayors of Vernon, 1967-2017 (may be incomplete!)
Frank J. McCoy 1970-75 Thomas A. Benoit 1976-77 Frank J. McCoy 1978-79 Marie A. Herbst 1980-87 Stephen C. Marcham 1988-89 John F. Drost 1990-93 Edward C. Slattery 1994-95 Tony Muro 1996-97 Joe Grabinski 1998-99 Stephen C. Marcham 2000-01 Diane Wheelock 2002-03 Ellen L. Marmer 2004-07 Jason L. McCoy 2008-11 George F. Apel 2012-13 Daniel A. Champagne 2014-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1967: John E. Grant (Rep), elected; Peter Humphry (Dem), defeated.
  • 1969 Nov 4: Frank J. McCoy (Rep), elected; Seymour E. Lauitt (Dem), defeated.
  • 1971 Nov 2: Frank J. McCoy (Rep), elected; Albert S. Smith (Dem), defeated.
  • 1973 Nov 6: Frank J. McCoy (Rep), elected; James J. Roche (Dem), defeated.
  • 1975 Nov 4: Thomas A. Benoit (Dem), elected; Frank J. McCoy (Rep), defeated.
  • 1977 Nov 8: Frank J. McCoy (Rep), elected; Thomas A. Benoit (Dem), defeated.
  • 1979 Nov 6: Marie A. Herbst (Dem), elected; Frank J. McCoy (Rep), defeated.
  • 1981 Nov 3: Marie A. Herbst (Dem), elected; John E. Grant (Rep), defeated.
  • 1983 Nov 8: Marie A. Herbst (Dem), elected.
  • 1985 Nov 5: Marie A. Herbst (Dem), elected; George W. Russell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Stephen C. Marcham (Dem), elected; Robert J. Callahan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1989 Nov 7: John F. Drost (Dem), elected; John L. Giulietti, defeated.
  • 1991 Nov 5: John F. Drost (Dem), elected; George W. Russell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1993 Nov 2: Edward C. Slattery (Rep), elected; Marie A. Herbst (Dem), defeated.
  • 1995 Nov 7: Tony Muro (Dem), elected; Edward C. Slattery (Rep), defeated.
  • 1997 Nov 4: Joe Grabinski (Rep), elected; Tony Muro (Dem), defeated.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Stephen C. Marcham (Dem), elected; Joe Grabinski (Rep), defeated.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Diane Wheelock (Rep), elected; Chester W. Morgan (Dem), defeated.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Ellen L. Marmer (Dem), elected; Diane Wheelock (Rep), defeated.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Ellen L. Marmer (Dem), elected; Robert Kleinhans (Rep), defeated.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Jason L. McCoy (Rep), elected; Ellen L. Marmer (Dem), defeated; James Webb Wilson, defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Jason L. McCoy (Rep), elected; Michelle Arn (Dem), defeated.
  • 2011 Nov 8: George F. Apel (Rep), elected; Pauline A. Schaefer (Dem), defeated; Gordon W. Paterson, defeated; James E. Krupienski, defeated.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Daniel A. Champagne (Rep), elected; Thomas A. DiDio (Dem), defeated.
  • 2015 Nov 3: Daniel A. Champagne (Rep), elected; Teri-Lynn Rogers (Dem), defeated.

    First Selectmen of Vernon, 1888-1957 (may be incomplete!)
    Henry G. Ransom as of 1888 John E. Fahey as of 1896-97 Parley B. Leonard as of 1899-1910 Frederick J. Cooley as of 1911 Charles M. Squires as of 1920-22 George Arnold, Jr. as of 1926-27 Ernest A. Schindler as of 1947 Herbert I. Pagani as of 1950-57

    Postmasters at Vernon, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    G. G. Tillinghast as of 1901


    Mayors of Rockville, 1889-1965 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel Fitch 1890-91 William V. McNerney 1891-93 E. Stevens Henry 1894-95 Edwin L. Heath 1896-99 William H. Loomis 1900-03 George Forster 1904-11 Lyman T. Tingier 1912-13 S. Tracy Noble 1914-15 John P. Cameron 1916-19 Frederick G. Hartenstein 1920-21 Joseph Grist 1922-23 John P. Cameron 1924-27 George Forster 1928-29 Albert E. Waite 1930-33 George C. Scheets 1934-35 Claude A. Mills 1936-41 Raymond E. Hunt 1942-47 Frederick S. Berger 1948-56 Herman G. Olson 1956-60 Leo B. Flaherty, Jr. 1960-65

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Dec 2: Samuel Fitch (Rep), elected; Silas Putnam (Dem), defeated.
  • 1941 Dec 2: Raymond E. Hunt, elected.

    Postmasters at Rockville, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    George W. Randall as of 1901

    Vernon Center

    Postmasters at Vernon Center, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    S. G. Butler as of 1901


    Postmasters at Talcottville, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    John G. Talcott as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/vernon.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]