The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Putnam, Connecticut
Mayors, First Selectmen, Postmasters

Mayors of Putnam, 1896-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Lebbeus E. Smith as of 1896-97 Lucius H. Fuller as of 1899 Lucius H. Fuller as of 1902 Franklin W. Perry as of 1904 John J. McGarry as of 1909 Archibald Macdonald as of 1910-11 John J. McGarry as of 1917 A. W. Marcy as of 1918-21 Archibald Macdonald as of 1922 Victor Chapdelaine as of 1926-27 Charles A. Richard as of 1928-31 Leon A. Talbot as of 1932-33 Francis H. Murphy as of 1934-35 William Perry Barber as of 1940 Harvey J. Grinsell as of 1943 Harvey J. Grinsell as of 1947 John N. Dempsey as of 1949-57 William St. Onge 1961-62 Richard Place as of 2012

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: Donald R. St. Onge (Dem), elected; Samuel J. Roberts (Rep), defeated.

    First Selectmen of Putnam, 1888-1957 (may be incomplete!)
    Omer La Rue as of 1888 Artemas H. Corbin as of 1896 Charles D. Torrey as of 1897-99 Alexander A. Houghton as of 1901 Clarendon M. Green as of 1904 Clarence E. Pierce as of 1908-11 Clarence E. Pierce as of 1919-27 Gerald Caron as of 1947 Ferdinand Gagnon as of 1950-57

    Postmasters at Putnam, 1901-81 (may be incomplete!)
    F. G. Letters as of 1901 Norman J. Bonneville 1965-68 Alfred C. Dion 1968-81

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/putnam.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]