The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Norwich, Connecticut
including Norwichtown, Taftville, Yantic, Chelsea Landing
Mayors, First Selectmen, Postmasters

Mayors of Norwich, 1784-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Benjamin Huntington as of 1784-96 Calvin Goddard as of 1814 James Lanman as of 1831 John Breed as of 1845 William A. Buckingham as of 1849-50 Lafayette S. Foster 1851-52 William A. Buckingham as of 1856-57 Lorenzo Blackstone as of 1867 Increase W. Carpenter as of 1887-88 S. Ashbel Crandall 1888-92 Calvin L. Harwood as of 1893-96 Frederic L. Osgood as of 1897 Charles F. Thayer 1900-08 Costello Lippitt 1908-10 Charles F. Thayer as of 1911 Allyn L. Brown as of 1917-19 Jeremiah J. Desmond as of 1920 Herbert M. Lerou as of 1921-22 Milo R. Waters as of 1926-28 Lee R. Robbins as of 1929-31 Edward G. Moran as of 1932-35 William J. Fitzgerald as of 1940-41 Richard L. Norman as of 1943 James J. Mullins as of 1947 Richard F. Marks as of 1949-51 Peter A. Nystrom as of 2010-12

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1851 Jun 2: Lafayette S. Foster (Whig), elected.

    First Selectmen of Norwich, 1888-1957 (may be incomplete!)
    Thurston B. Lillibridge as of 1888 James A. Brown as of 1896-97 Archibald S. Spalding as of 1899 Arthur D. Lathrop as of 1901-09 Albert W. Lillibridge as of 1910-11 Casper K. Bailey as of 1919-22 William S. Murray as of 1926-27 Theodore J. Richard as of 1947-49 Thomas F. Dorsey as of 1950 Clarence A. Lillibridge as of 1954-56 Viola J. Buddington as of 1957

    Postmasters at Norwich, 1827-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles Kinney 1827-29 William L'Hommedieu 1829-42 Samuel M. Downer 1842-43 Enoch C. Chapman 1843-44 John H. Townsend 1844-45 William L'Hommedieu 1845-49 John Dunham 1849-53 John W. Stedman 1853-61 Henry H. Starkweather 1861-66 Charles M. Coil 1866-70 Enoch G. Bidwell 1870-86 Charles S. Avery 1886-89 William Caruthers 1889-94 Stephen H. Hall 1894-98 William Caruthers 1898-1915 John P. Murphy 1915-23 Casper K. Bailey 1923 Casper K. Bailey 1923-36 Walter P. Moran 1936-59 Diogenes Peter John 1959-61 Richard J. Marks 1961-66 Richard J. Marks 1966-76


    Postmasters at Norwichtown, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Herbert W. Hale as of 1901


    Postmasters at Taftville, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    James Graham as of 1901


    Postmasters at Yantic, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel Harrison as of 1901

    Chelsea Landing

    Postmasters at Chelsea Landing, 1802-27 (may be incomplete!)
    Jacob DeWitt 1802-09 John DeWitt 1809-23 Charles Kinney 1823-27

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/norwich.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]