The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Milford, Connecticut
including Boardman, Gaylordsville, Northville, Still River
Mayors, First Selectmen, Postmasters

Mayors of New Milford, 1989-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Patricia A. Murphy as of 2011-12

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: Walter R. Rogg (Rep), elected; Stuart F. Halpine (Dem), defeated.

    First Selectmen of New Milford, 1888-1957 (may be incomplete!)
    Perry N. Hall as of 1888 David E. Soule as of 1896 Andrew G. Barnes as of 1897 David E. Soule as of 1899 Andrew G. Barnes as of 1901-04 Stephen C. Beach as of 1908 Andrew G. Barnes as of 1909 Stephen C. Beach as of 1910-11 Ralph C. Dodd as of 1919-21 Levi S. Richmond as of 1922-26 James H. Dodd as of 1927 Ralph C. Dodd as of 1947 John H. Adams as of 1949-50 Brownson W. Smith as of 1954-55 E. Paul Martin as of 1956-57

    Postmasters at New Milford, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    G. W. Anthony as of 1901


    Postmasters at Boardman, 1901-03 (may be incomplete!)
    Ithamer F. Northrop as of 1901-03


    Postmasters at Gaylordsville, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Alexander H. Barlow as of 1901


    Postmasters at Northville, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Minnie Payne as of 1901

    Still River

    Postmasters at Still River, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Laura J. Campbell as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/newmilford.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]