The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New London, Connecticut
Mayors, First Selectmen, Postmasters

Mayors of New London, 1784-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Richard Law as of 1784 Elias Perkins as of 1829-33 John P. C. Mather as of 1845 Frederic W. Allen as of 1867 Thomas M. Waller as of 1873 Robert Coit as of 1879 C. A. Williams as of 1887-88 George F. Tinker as of 1889-91 Ralph Wheeler as of 1892-93 Andrew J. Bentley 1894 James P. Johnston as of 1895-97 Bryan F. Mahan as of 1903-06 Benjamin L. Armstrong 1906-09 Bryan F. Mahan as of 1909-12 Ernest E. Rogers as of 1917 E. Frank Morgan as of 1920-21 Lucius E. Whiton as of 1922 William C. Fox as of 1926-27 James A. May as of 1928 Malcolm M. Scott as of 1929 Cornelius D. Twomey as of 1930 E. Frank Morgan as of 1931 James A. May as of 1932 Malcolm M. Scott as of 1933 Alton T. Miner as of 1934 Cornelius D. Twomey as of 1935 Leo B. Reagan as of 1940 Lewis B. Doane as of 1941-43 Richard R. Morgan as of 1947 Samuel J. Selleck as of 1949 Fred Benvenuti as of 1950 Frank Kelly as of 1951 Fred Benvenuti as of 1953 Thomas J. Griffin as of 1954 Richard J. Duggan as of 1955 Thomas G. Martin as of 1955-56 Moses A. Savin as of 1957 Thomas L. Harrington as of 1975 Leo E. Jackson as of 1979-80 Robert M. Pero as of 2010-12

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1907 Oct 7: Benjamin L. Armstrong, elected.
  • 1909 Oct 4: Bryan F. Mahan (Dem), elected.

    First Selectmen of New London, 1888-1957 (may be incomplete!)
    Abner N. Sterry as of 1888 Charles Prentis as of 1896-1908 Edwin L. da Silva as of 1909-10 William L. White as of 1911 Joseph F. Fitzpatrick as of 1919-20 Lawrence S. M. Cook as of 1921-22 William L. White as of 1926-27 E. Clement Sugrue as of 1947 Nicola Magro as of 1949 Frank L. Delmore as of 1950 Laurette J. Beckwith as of 1954-55 Mary J. Riley as of 1956 Laurette J. Beckwith as of 1957

    Postmasters at New London, 1773-1988 (may be incomplete!)
    John S. Miller 1773-75 Nathaniel Shaw 1775-76 Gurdon Saltonstall 1776-85 Timothy Green 1786 Lyman Law 1794-97 Richard Douglass II 1797-1816 Ebenezer Way 1816-38 Caleb J. Allen 1838-41 James H. Turner 1841-46 Stanley G. Trott 1846-50 James H. Turner 1850-53 James B. Lyman 1853-58 Stanley G. Trott 1858-62 Julius W. Eggleston 1862-66 Charles W. Butler 1866-70 Betsy A. Mower 1870-78 William H. Tubbs 1878-85 George D. Whittlesey 1885-90 Nathan J. Allender 1890-93 Hezekiah B. Smith 1893-94 Bryan F. Mahan 1894-98 John McGinley 1898-1915 Bryan F. Mahan 1915-23 Walter M. Slocum 1923-24 Walter M. Slocum 1924-28 Philip K. Dewire 1929 Philip K. Dewire 1929-33 Edward Corcoran 1933-35 James R. May 1935-42 Timothy J. Sullivan 1942-43 Timothy J. Sullivan 1943-65 Anthony S. Facas 1965-68 Anthony S. Facas 1968-88

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1785 Sep 19: Gurdon Saltonstall, died in office.
  • 1923 Nov 16: Bryan F. Mahan, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/newlondon.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]