The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Naugatuck, Connecticut
including Union City
Mayors, First Selectmen, Wardens, Postmasters

Mayors of Naugatuck, 1955-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Charles F. Clark 1955-57 Adam T. Mengacci 1957-61 Joseph Raytkwich, Jr. 1961-65 Thomas Rowley 1965 Joseph Raytkwich, Jr. 1965-69 Paul Bessette 1969-71 Casmir J. Waskowicz 1971-73 William C. Rado, Sr. 1973-85 Terry Buckmiller 1985-89 John Letts, Sr. 1989-91 Robert Paolino 1991-95 William C. Rado, Sr. 1995-97 Timothy Barth 1997-99 Joan Taf 1999-2003 Ronald San Angelo 2003-07 Michael Bronko 2008-09 Robert A. Mezzo 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2011 May 2: Robert A. Mezzo (Dem), elected unopposed.

    First Selectmen of Naugatuck, 1888-1957 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas Conran as of 1888 John J. Gorman as of 1896 Arthur W. Smith as of 1897-99 John A. Anderson as of 1901 Arthur W. Smith as of 1904 Alfred E. Schofield as of 1908 Patrick E. Scully as of 1909 Charles B. Andrew as of 1910 Joseph C. Flynn as of 1911 Charles O. Fellows as of 1915 Frank G. Arendholz as of 1919-20 George C. Lambert as of 1921 Frank G. Arendholz as of 1922-27 Mary Galeski as of 1947 Vernon Anderson as of 1949 Sophie C. Dethiefsen as of 1950 Nora Standbridge as of 1954-55 Catherine Nardello as of 1956 Nora Standbridge as of 1957

    Wardens of Naugatuck, 1893-1955 (may be incomplete!)
    George D. Bissell 1893-94 F. F. Schaffer 1894-95 E. Stevens 1895-97 John J. Gorman 1897-98 F. F. Schaffer 1898-1903 John J. Gorman 1903-04 W. T. Rodenbach 1904-06 Harry Roberts 1906-07 W. T. Rodenbach 1907-08 Thomas O'Loughlin 1908-09 Joshua W. Rogers 1909-10 William J. Neary 1910-12 A. Barton Cross, Jr. 1912-14 Howard B. Tuttle 1914-18 John J. Carroll 1918-19 Howard B. Tuttle 1919-20 John F. McDonough 1920-21 Walter E. Brown 1921-22 Harris Whittemore, Jr. 1922-24 Michael J. Langford 1924-25 Harris Whittemore, Jr. 1925-27 Arvid J. Anderson 1927-28 Frank T. Green 1928-29 Frank S. Lobdell 1929-30 Frank T. Green 1930-32 Harris Whittemore, Jr. 1932-34 John J. Sheridan 1934-41 Leo J. Brophy 1941-47 Harry L. Carter 1947-52 George Fellows 1952-53 Charles F. Clark 1953-55

    Postmasters at Naugatuck, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    I. L. Trowbridge as of 1901

    Union City

    Postmasters at Union City, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    B. C. Hall as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/naugatuck.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]