The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Milford, Connecticut
including Woodmont
Mayors, First Selectmen, Postmasters, Wardens

Mayors of Milford, 1959-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Charles Iovino 1959-63 Alan Jepson 1963-69 Edward Kozlowski 1969-71 Clifton Moore 1971-73 Joel Baldwin 1973-77 Henry A. Povinelli 1977-81 Alberta Jagoe 1981-89 Frederick L. Lisman 1989-2001 James L. Richetelli, Jr. 2001-11 Benjamin G. Blake 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: Frederick L. Lisman (Rep), elected; Vincent P. Marrone (Dem), defeated.
  • 2001 Nov 6: James L. Richetelli, Jr. (Rep), elected; Frank Smith (Dem), defeated.
  • 2003 Nov 4: James L. Richetelli, Jr. (Rep), elected; Linda B. Stephenson (Dem), defeated.
  • 2005 Nov 8: James L. Richetelli, Jr. (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 2007 Nov 6: James L. Richetelli, Jr. (Rep), elected; Ken Rowland (Dem), defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: James L. Richetelli, Jr. (Rep), elected; Genevieve P. Salvatore (Dem), defeated; Peter L. Spalthoff (Ind), defeated; Timothy P. Chaucer, defeated.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Benjamin G. Blake (Dem), elected; Bob Joy (Rep), defeated; Rocco Frank, Jr. (Ind), defeated.

    First Selectmen of Milford, 1888-1957 (may be incomplete!)
    William H. Andrews as of 1888 William P. Thomas as of 1896 Elias E. Bradley as of 1897-99 Elbert L. Ford as of 1901-04 Frank T. Munson as of 1907-11 Manley J. Cheney as of 1915-21 Harry Miles as of 1922 Harry M. Merwin as of 1926-27 Harry M. Merwin as of 1947 Ralph J. Broderick as of 1949-50 Betty G. Noble as of 1954-57

    Postmasters at Milford, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    F. L. Tibbals as of 1901


    Wardens of Woodmont, 1904-50 (may be incomplete!)
    Frederick A. Carleton as of 1904 Andrew Y. Beach as of 1909-10 James F. Beebe as of 1911 Charles H. Holton as of 1917 John H. Clarke as of 1921-22 W. E. Greene as of 1926-28 Robert Dixon as of 1929-37 William D. Nolan as of 1947-50

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/milford.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]