The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lyme, Connecticut
including East Lyme, Old Lyme, North Lyme, South Lyme, Hadlyme, Blackhall, Brockway, Crescent, Hamburg, Niantic
First Selectmen, Postmasters

First Selectmen of Lyme, 1888-1989 (may be incomplete!)
Benajah P. Bill as of 1888 Charles Stark as of 1896-97 Henry B. Sisson as of 1901 Charles Stark as of 1904 J. Raymond Warren as of 1907 Jared S. Daniels as of 1909-10 J. Warren Stark as of 1911-27 Walter W. Hanna as of 1947-50

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: John F. Yeomans (Rep), elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Lyme, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    William F. Clark as of 1901

    East Lyme

    First Selectmen of East Lyme, 1888-2012 (may be incomplete!)
    John J. Comstock as of 1888 Calvin S. Davis as of 1896-99 Fred A. Beckwith as of 1901-07 George P. Hill as of 1908 Fred A. Beckwith as of 1909 Clifford E. Chapman as of 1910 Fred A. Beckwith as of 1911-19 Fred W. Harvey as of 1920 Fred A. Beckwith as of 1921-27 Clinton F. MacKinnon as of 1947-49 Mario A. Orefice as of 1950 Clinton F. MacKinnon as of 1954-55 Mario A. Orefice as of 1956-57 Paul M. Fomica as of 2011-12

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: David L. Cini (Dem), elected; Dennis J. Murphy, Jr. (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at East Lyme, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    D. Calkins as of 1887 Jabez B. Hough as of 1901

    Old Lyme

    First Selectmen of Old Lyme, 1888-1989 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles E. Peck as of 1888 Charles E. Peck as of 1901 Eugene D. Caulkins as of 1904-09 F. J. Howard as of 1910 George Griswold as of 1911 Eugene D. Caulkins as of 1919-22

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: James R. Rice (Dem), elected unopposed.

    North Lyme

    Postmasters at North Lyme, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Julia R. Stark as of 1901

    South Lyme

    Postmasters at South Lyme, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Seth L. Waite as of 1901


    Postmasters at Hadlyme, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Fannie E. Burnham as of 1901


    Postmasters at Blackhall, 1887-1903 (may be incomplete!)
    W. R. De Wolf as of 1887-1903


    Postmasters at Brockway, 1886-1911 (may be incomplete!)
    Hayden L. Reynolds 1886-87 Lee L. Brockway 1887-93 Lodwick B. Brockway 1893-1911


    Postmasters at Crescent, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles P. Leonard as of 1901


    Postmasters at Hamburg, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Angeline A. Beckwith as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/lyme.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]