The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Litchfield, Connecticut
including Bantam, East Litchfield, Milton, Northfield
First Selectmen, Wardens, Postmasters

First Selectmen of Litchfield, 1888-1989 (may be incomplete!)
Jacob Morse as of 1888 Charles Merriman as of 1896 Charles B. Bishop as of 1897 Edward Crutch as of 1901 Louis J. Goodman as of 1904 William T. Marsh as of 1907 Louis J. Goodman as of 1909 Patrick C. Burke as of 1910-15 Louis J. Goodman as of 1917 Patrick C. Burke as of 1919-22 Frederick A. Stoddard as of 1926 Louis J. Goodman as of 1927 Howard Bissell as of 1947-50

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: Linda L. Bongiolatti (Dem), elected; Mary Q. Fahey (Rep), elected.

    Wardens of Litchfield, 1888-1950 (may be incomplete!)
    Howard E. Gates as of 1888 Eugene L. Phelps as of 1896 James P. Woodruff as of 1897 John T. Hubbard as of 1900-01 Aaron Crutch as of 1904-11 W. Burton Allen as of 1917 George C. Ives as of 1920-26 Charles W. Biglow as of 1927-28 Martin J. Moraghan as of 1929-37 Martin J. Moraghan as of 1947-50

    Postmasters at Litchfield, 1792-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Benjamin Tallmadge 1792-1801 Frederick Wolcott 1801-02 Moses Seymour, Jr. 1802-25 Charles Seymour 1825-29 Stephen Deming 1829-32 George C. Woodruff 1832-42 Jason Whiting 1842 George C. Woodruff 1842-46 Reuben M. Woodruff 1846-49 Leverett Wessells 1849-53 George H. Baldwin 1853-61 Riverius Marsh 1861-66 Howard E. Gates 1866-86 Willis J. Beach 1886-89 Seth Pratt 1889-93 Julius Deming 1893-97 Almon E. Fuller 1897-1901

    (subset of Litchfield)

    Wardens of Bantam, 1917-50 (may be incomplete!)
    Eli D. Weeks as of 1917 John A. Hard as of 1920 Augustus Smith as of 1921-22 Frank H. Maloney as of 1926 Augustus Smith as of 1927-28 Eugene G. Converse as of 1937 Harry N. Kilbourn as of 1947 Joseph J. Dante as of 1950

    Postmasters at Bantam, 1885-1907 (may be incomplete!)
    Edward Crossman as of 1885 C. F. Flynn as of 1887 William P. Crossman as of 1901-07

    East Litchfield

    Postmasters at East Litchfield, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    S. M. Kilbourne as of 1887 J. E. Carter as of 1901


    Postmasters at Milton, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    F. H. Earle as of 1901


    Postmasters at Northfield, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    J. P. Catlin as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/litchfield.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]