The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Killingly, Connecticut
including Ballouville, Danielson, Danielsonville, Danielsons Factory, East Killingly, Killingly Centre, North Killingly, South Killingly
First Selectmen, Postmasters, Wardens

First Selectmen of Killingly, 1888-1957 (may be incomplete!)
E. R. Burlingame as of 1888 Oliver W. Bowen as of 1896-97 John A. Gilbert as of 1899-1927 William A. Reddy as of 1947-57

Postmasters at Killingly, 1806-1901 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel Sampson Howe 1806 Aaron Arnold 1807-12 Joseph Adams 1812-31 Luther Warren 1831-36 James Warren 1836-39 George Warren 1839-42 Leavens Jencks 1842-56 John Smith 1856-60 Horace Woodward 1860-61 Benjamin N. Thomas 1861-67 Clovis S. Sayles 1867-69 Marcus Wood 1869-85 Lorenzo M. Kennedy 1885 George W. Webster 1885-89 Charles A. Stokes 1889-93 Newton Phillips 1893 Edward Riley, Jr. 1893-97 Louis G. Sayles 1897-1901


Postmasters at Ballouville, 1882-1983 (may be incomplete!)
Calvin H. Frisbie 1882-92 Wesley Wilson 1892-99 Walter E. Frissell 1899-1907 Leonide E. Tetreault 1942 Leonide E. Tetreault 1942-49 George E. LaBelle 1949 George E. LaBelle 1949-51 Robert G. Willett 1951-52 Robert G. Willett 1952-83


Wardens of Danielson, 1896-1957 (may be incomplete!)
William H. Hamilton as of 1896 Charles H. Bacon as of 1897 Edwin L. Palmer as of 1904 William H. Marland as of 1909 W. Irving Bullard as of 1910 Frank P. Warren as of 1911 Frederick E. Cunneen as of 1917 Damase Boulais as of 1920-21 Herbert C. Keech as of 1922 Walter Anderson as of 1926 Harry E. Back as of 1927-28 Richard D. Banigan as of 1929 Gaston A. Maindon as of 1930 Arthur V. Woodworth as of 1937 Charles F. Charron as of 1947-50 Ellis K. Howland as of 1954-57

Postmasters at Danielson, 1895-1983 (may be incomplete!)
Martin V. Woodworth 1895-99 Charles A. Porter 1899-1901 Edwin H. Keach as of 1923-30 Julien A. Barrette 1965-66 Julien A. Barrette 1966-83

(renamed Danielson in 1895)

Wardens of Danielsonville, 1854-90 (may be incomplete!)
George Danielson 1854 A. D. Lockwood 1855 Horatio Webb 1856-61 W. C. Tucker 1862 Edward L. Cundall 1863-64 Samuel Hutchins 1865 L. H. Rickard 1866 Abner Young 1867-68 Anthony Ames 1869 B. F. Chapman 1870-71 George Leavens 1872-73 E. R. Burlingame 1874 L. H. Rickard 1875-76 B. A. Bailey 1877 Anthony Ames 1878 L. H. Rickard 1879 Thomas J. Evans 1880 William H. Chollar 1881 Marshall P. Dowe 1882 Joshua Perkins 1883-85 George Jencks 1886 Frederick A. Jacobs 1887-88 Sidney W. Crofut 1888-90

Postmasters at Danielsonville, 1878-95 (may be incomplete!)
Francis A. Shumway 1878-87 Marshall P. Dowe 1887-90 Charles E. Woodis 1890-95 Martin V. Woodworth 1895

Danielsons Factory
(now Danielson)

Postmasters at Danielsons Factory, 1826 (may be incomplete!)
George Danielson 1826

East Killingly

Postmasters at East Killingly, 1835-1969 (may be incomplete!)
Hazael Packham 1835-37 Elisha Stone 1837-43 William Stone 1843-51 William A. Stone 1851-56 Edwin A. Hill 1856-61 Almond M. Paine 1861-67 Oliver C. Hammond 1867-69 Isaac Fogg 1869-85 Albert H. Sayles 1885 Nelson M. Reynolds 1885-89 Brayton Round 1889-96 Nelson M. Reynolds 1896-1908 Almond M. Paine 1908-14 Herbert F. McLaughlin 1914-15 Alcott D. Sayles 1915-16 Robert G. Smith 1916-29 James E. Smith 1929-35 Philip T. Lewis 1935 Philip T. Lewis 1935-65 E. Louise Oatley 1965-67 E. Louise Oatley 1967-69

Killingly Centre

Postmasters at Killingly Centre, 1818-42 (may be incomplete!)
Harvey Blashfield 1818-26 Jeremiah Field 1826-42

North Killingly

Postmasters at North Killingly, 1842-57 (may be incomplete!)
George Warren 1842-57

South Killingly

Postmasters at South Killingly, 1826-1901 (may be incomplete!)
George Danielson 1826-35 Horace Day 1835 Leonard Day 1835-37 Cyrus Day 1837-47 Horace Arnold 1847-49 John E. Short 1849-54 Lowell Graves 1854-58 Leonard Day 1858-74 Olive W. Day 1874-78 Henry A. Tennant 1878-82 Everett E. Salisbury 1882-86 Charles P. Spaulding 1886-89 Mary A. Drew 1889-92 William Henry Fiske 1892-93 Charles P. Spaulding 1893-99 William H. Martin 1899-1900 William E. Vaughn 1900-01

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/killingly.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]