The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Haddam, Connecticut
including Haddam Neck, Duncan, Higganum, Ponsett, Shailerville, Tylerville
First Selectmen, Postmasters

First Selectmen of Haddam, 1888-1989 (may be incomplete!)
Jonathan W. Clark as of 1888 Ephraim P. Arnold as of 1901-07 Myron G. Skinner as of 1909 Ephraim P. Arnold as of 1910-11 Charles B. Carlson as of 1919 Bert G. Thompson as of 1920 John C. Russell as of 1922

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: Jane W. Blau (Rep), elected; Lorenzo Vallera (Dem), defeated; Lucian C. Wilson, defeated.

    Postmasters at Haddam, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    A. R. Shailer as of 1901

    Haddam Neck

    Postmasters at Haddam Neck, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Hannah M. Selden as of 1901


    Postmasters at Duncan, 1900-01 (may be incomplete!)
    Layton A. Kelsey 1900-01


    Postmasters at Higganum, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    C. S. Hubbard as of 1901


    Postmasters at Ponsett, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Hubert W. Knowles as of 1901


    Postmasters at Shailerville, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Flavius W. Bailey as of 1901


    Postmasters at Tylerville, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Roland R. Tyler as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/haddam.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]