The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Griswold, Connecticut
including Jewett City, Glasgo
First Selectmen, Postmasters, Wardens

First Selectmen of Griswold, 1888-1989 (may be incomplete!)
John C. Hawkins as of 1888 Frederick H. Fanning as of 1896-98 James H. Finn as of 1901-04 Daniel L. Phillips as of 1907 William H. Tift as of 1909 James H. Shea as of 1910-17 Horace Mailhotte as of 1919 Maxcy Seymour as of 1920 William H. Johnstone as of 1921 Maxcy Seymour as of 1922-27 H. E. Olson as of 1947-49 Aloysius Kargul as of 1950

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1989 Nov 7: Donald E. Burdick (Dem), elected; Steven E. Way (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Griswold, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Albert R. Saunders as of 1901

    Jewett City

    Wardens of Jewett City, 1896-1950 (may be incomplete!)
    A. A. Young, Jr. as of 1896-97 Ira F. Lewis as of 1904-11 Joseph H. McCarthy as of 1917 Horace Mailhotte as of 1920 Joseph H. McCarthy as of 1921-22 Matthew J. Geary as of 1926-28 Edmond Jodoin as of 1929-30 Joseph H. McCarthy as of 1937 Frank Zavistoski as of 1947 Ulderic E. Jodoin as of 1950

    Postmasters at Jewett City, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    W. H. Brown as of 1901


    Postmasters at Glasgo, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Jonas L. Herbert as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/griswold.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]