The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Danbury, Connecticut
including Mill Plain
Mayors, First Selectmen, Wardens, Postmasters

Mayors of Danbury, 1890-2012 (may be incomplete!)
L. LeGrand Hopkins 1890-91 Charles S. Peck 1891-93 Charles S. Andrews 1893-95 G. Mortimer Rundle 1895-97 John R. Booth as of 1904 William C. Gilbert as of 1909-10 N. Burton Rogers as of 1911 Anthony Sunderland as of 1917-19 William C. Gilbert as of 1920-22 A. Homer Fillow as of 1926-27 Anthony Sunderland as of 1928-30 G. Walter Morgan as of 1931-34 Adam A. Roth 1935-37 Martin J. Cunningham 1937-40 William J. Hannan as of 1941-50 Arthur Filkie as of 1951 John P. Previdi as of 1953-55 John A. DeFine, Jr. as of 1955-57 Charles A. Ducibella as of 1975 Mark D. Boughton as of 2010-12

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1937 Mar 29: Byron W. Austin (Dem), elected, but died before taking office; Adam A. Roth (Rep), defeated.
  • 1937 Jun 21: Martin J. Cunningham (Dem), elected; Adam A. Roth (Rep), defeated.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Gene F. Eriquez (Dem), elected; Joseph H. Sauer, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Richard M. Hunt, defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Mark D. Boughton (Rep), elected; Gary M. Goncalves (Dem), defeated.

    First Selectmen of Danbury, 1888-1963 (may be incomplete!)
    Nathaniel B. Selleck as of 1888 Alexander Turner as of 1896-1910 Morris Meyers as of 1911 Stephen B. Treadwell as of 1915-19 Elijah Sturdevant as of 1920-27 Charles I. Sweeney as of 1947-49 Joseph H. Sauer as of 1950-63

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1961 Oct 2: Joseph H. Sauer (Rep), elected; Norman A. Buzaid (Dem), defeated.
  • 1963 Oct 7: Joseph H. Sauer (Rep), elected; Peter A. Musnicki (Dem), defeated.

    Wardens of Danbury, 1888 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles H. Wilcox as of 1888

    Postmasters at Danbury, 1786-1986 (may be incomplete!)
    James Clark 1786-92 Oliver Burr 1792-97 Ebenezer Russel White 1797-1808 Zalmon Wildman 1808-35 Frederick S. Wildman 1835 Daniel A. Hoyt 1835-41 Phineas D. Crosby 1841-44 Ira R. Wildman 1844-49 Francis Fairchild 1849 William P. Stevens 1849-50 Edward W. Sanford 1850-53 Francis Fairchild 1853-61 Edward A. Brown 1861-70 Phineas D. Crosby 1870-76 John Tweedy 1876-86 Aaron C. Seeley 1886-91 John Tweedy 1891-95 Charles B. Mason 1895-1900 Augustus G. Ising 1900-01 Guy I. Robb 1956-57 Jack A. Vacarelli 1957-58 Jack A. Vacarelli 1958-86

    Mill Plain

    Postmasters at Mill Plain, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    John Senior as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/danbury.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]