The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ansonia, Connecticut
Mayors, Wardens, First Selectmen, Postmasters

Mayors of Ansonia, 1894-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Arthur H. Bartholomew as of 1894-95 Erwin W. Webster as of 1896-97 Stephen Charters as of 1902-11 John C. Mead as of 1917-26 Michael J. Cook as of 1927-32 Peter Hart as of 1933-35 Andrew F. Nolan 1937-45 Thomas J. Nelligan 1945-47 Frank P. Fitzpatrick as of 1949-51 William T. Sheasby as of 1953-56 Joseph A. Doyle as of 1957 Michael J. Adanti 1973-77 James Finnucan as of 1978 James T. Della Volpe as of 2010-12

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Nov 5: Stephen Charters, elected.
  • 1905 Nov 7: Alton Farrel, elected.
  • 1936: Andrew F. Nolan (Dem), elected.
  • 1945 Apr 28: Andrew F. Nolan, died in office.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Thomas J. Nelligan (Dem), elected; James J. Morgan, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Thomas P. Clifford III (Dem), elected; Brian F. Butler (Rep), defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: James T. Della Volpe (Dem), elected; Judy Larkin-Niccolari (Rep), defeated.

    Wardens of Ansonia, 1888 (may be incomplete!)
    Reuben H. Tucker as of 1888

    First Selectmen of Ansonia, 1896-1957 (may be incomplete!)
    John L. Lindley as of 1896 Jonah C. Platt as of 1897-98 Morris Drew as of 1899-1904 Charles B. Wooster as of 1906 Arthur R. Morgan as of 1907-11 John C. Mead as of 1914-15 John Bazley as of 1917 Thomas E. Houlihan as of 1919-22 Samuel J. Kyle as of 1924 George Lyon as of 1927 Walter Birmingham as of 1937 John H. McNamara as of 1947-49 Dennis Neville as of 1950 William Mead as of 1954 J. Clement Larkin as of 1955-57

    Postmasters at Ansonia, 1849-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    George Bristol 1849-53 Burr Perkins 1853-58 John Lindley 1858-61 George Bristol 1861-69 Charles E. Bristol 1869-85 John L. Lindley 1885-90 Morris Drew 1890-94 Dennis T. Walsh 1894-98 Frederick L. Gaylord 1898-1910 Michael J. Cook 1939-40 Daniel J. McCarthy 1940 Daniel J. McCarthy 1940-66 Jerry F. Mahoney 1966-67 Joseph A. Doyle 1967-82

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1940 Feb 29: Michael J. Cook, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/ansonia.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]