The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Denver, Colorado

Mayors of Denver, 1861-2010 (may be incomplete!)
Charles A. Cook 1861-63 Amos Steck 1863-64 H. J. Brendlinger 1864-65 George T. Clark 1865-66 Milton M. DeLano 1866-68 William M. Clayton 1868-69 Baxter B. Stiles 1869-71 John Harper 1871-72 Joseph E. Bates 1872-73 Francis M. Case 1873-74 William J. Barker 1874-76 R. G. Buckingham 1876-77 Baxter B. Stiles 1877-78 Richard Sopris 1878-81 Robert Morris 1881-83 John L. Routt 1883-85 Joseph E. Bates 1885-87 William Scott Lee 1887-89 Wolfe Londoner 1889-91 Platt Rogers 1891-93 Marion D. Van Horn 1893-95 Thomas S. McMurray 1895-99 Henry V. Johnson 1899-1901 Robert R. Wright 1901-04 Robert W. Speer 1904-12 Henry J. Arnold 1912-13 James M. Perkins 1913-15 William H. Sharpley 1915-16 Robert W. Speer 1916-18 William F. R. Mills 1918-19 Dewey C. Bailey 1919-23 Benjamin F. Stapleton 1923-31 George D. Begole 1931-35 Benjamin F. Stapleton 1935-47 J. Quigg Newton 1947-55 Will F. Nicholson 1955-59 Richard Batterton 1959-63 Thomas Currigan 1963-68 William H. McNichols 1968-83 Federico F. Pena 1983-91 Wellington E. Webb 1991- John Hickenlooper 2003-10

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1899 Apr 4: Henry V. Johnson (Dem), elected.
  • 2003: John Hickenlooper, elected.
  • 2007: John Hickenlooper, elected.

    Postmasters at Denver, 1860-1974 (may be incomplete!)
    William P. McLure 1860-61 Samuel S. Curtis 1861-64 William N. Byers 1864-66 Andrew Sagendorf 1866-69 Hiram Pitt Bennet 1869-74 David A. Cheever 1874-76 Edward C. Sumner 1876-79 William N. Byers 1879-83 Robert Morris 1883-86 Robert W. Speer 1886-89 John Corcoran 1889-93 James H. Jordan 1893-98 Horace A. W. Tabor 1898-99 John C. Twombley 1899-1904 Paul J. Sours 1904-12 Joseph H. Harrison 1912-15 Benjamin F. Stapleton 1915-21 Frank T. Frawley 1921-22 Frank L. Dodge 1922 Frank L. Dodge 1922-34 James O. Stevic 1934-49 Frank Anthony Pomponio 1949-50 Frank Anthony Pomponio 1950-56 Theodore G. Hefner 1956-57 Theodore G. Hefner 1957-62 George A. Cavender 1962-63 George A. Cavender 1963-74

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1899 Apr 10: Horace A. W. Tabor, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CO/ofc/denver.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]