The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Vallejo, California

Mayors of Vallejo, 1909-60 (may be incomplete!)
J. F. Chappell as of 1909 James Roney as of 1914-21 A. H. Draughon as of 1923 Fred H. Heegler as of 1937 George C. Demmon as of 1952-55 G. Wilfred Hewitt as of 1960

Postmasters at Vallejo, 1851-1972 (may be incomplete!)
Lyman Leslie 1851-53 Eleazer Frisbie 1855-57 William W. Chapman 1857-60 Joseph S. McIntyre 1860-61 Edson J. Wilson 1861-64 Edwin H. Sawyer 1864 George P. Wescott 1864-65 Edson J. Wilson 1865-68 James E. Ryan 1868-69 Mary J. Falls 1869 Edson J. Wilson 1869-73 Martin J. Wright 1873-82 Frank A. Leach 1882-85 William F. Roe 1885-86 George Roe 1886-90 William D. Pennycook 1890-94 George Roe 1894-98 William D. Pennycook 1898-1903 John J. Luchsinger 1903-08 William D. Pennycook 1908-14 Robert W. Walker 1914-21 Henry F. Stahl 1921-24 Henry F. Stahl 1924-33 Ralph L. Cassady 1933-34 John J. Madigan 1934-35 John J. Madigan 1935-54 Ray F. Hawkins 1954-55 Ray F. Hawkins 1955-62 Thomas J. McCaffrey 1962-65 Thomas J. McCaffrey 1965-72

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/vallejo.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]