The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Santa Cruz, California

Mayors of Santa Cruz, 1876-2004 (may be incomplete!)
William F. Cooper 1876-78 D. Hinds 1878-80 J. D. Chace 1880-84 Robert Effey 1884-88 G. Bowman 1888-92 William T. Jeter 1892-94 Robert Effey 1894-96 H. H. Clark 1896-98 W. H. Lamb 1898-1900 J. P. Parker 1900-02 David C. Clark 1902-06 T. W. Drullard 1906-07 S. A. Palmer 1907-09 T. W. Drullard 1909-11 George W. Stone 1911-13 T. W. Drullard 1913-15 F. R. Howe 1915-17 A. A. Taylor 1917-19 Carl C. Kratzenstein 1919-23 John B. Maher 1923-25 W. O. Kerrick 1925-27 Fred W. Swanton 1927-33 Ray Hammond 1933-36 C. D. Hinkle 1936-41 Edwin L. Rich 1941-43 F. Roy Fulmer 1943-47 C. M. Aldrich 1947-48 Sam Clarke McNeely 1948-50 George N. Penniman 1950-51 Jack L. Chiorini 1951-53 C. L. Dysle 1953-54 Patrick J. Freeman 1954-55 Tom Polk Williams, Sr. 1955-56 Paul E. Forgey 1956-57 Olin Carl White 1957-58 Adrian J. Jensen 1958-59 Ted R. Foster 1959-60 Harold E. Carriger 1960-61 John C. Daly 1961-62 Bert B. Snyder, Jr. 1962-63 John McBain 1963-64 Norman S. Lezin 1964-65 Norman A. Walters 1965-66 Eugene M. Fleming 1966-67 Samuel Leask III 1967-68 Raymond H. Goodrich 1968-69 Richard J. Werner 1969-70 Ernest Wicklund, Jr. 1970-71 Lorette Wood 1971-72 Al Castagnola 1972-73 Vernon L. Smith 1973-74 Louis B. Muhly 1974-75 Sally Di Girolamo 1975-76 John J. Mahaney 1976-77 Joseph J. Ghio 1977-78 Lawrence A. Edler 1978-79 John J. Mahaney 1979-80 Joseph J. Ghio 1980-81 Michael E. Rotkin 1981-82 Bruce Van Allen 1982-83 John S. Laird 1983-84 Mardi Wormhoudt 1984-85 Michael E. Rotkin 1985-86 Jane Weed 1986-87 John S. Laird 1987-88 Mardi Wormhoudt 1988-90 Jane Yokoyama 1990-91 Don Lane 1991-92 Neal Coonerty 1992-93 Scott Kennedy 1993-94 Katherine Beiers 1994-95 Michael E. Rotkin 1995-96 Cynthia Mathews 1996-97 Celia Scott 1997-98 Katherine Beiers 1998-99 Keith A. Sugar 1999-2000 Timothy Fitzmaurice 2000-01 Christopher Krohn 2001-02 Emily Reilly 2002-03 Scott Kennedy 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1936 Jun 15: Ray Hammond, died in office.

    Postmasters at Santa Cruz, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Bart Burke as of 1887 O. J. Lincoln as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/santacruz.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]