The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
San Jose, California
including Alviso
Mayors, Postmasters, Town Presidents

Mayors of San Jose, 1850-1974 (may be incomplete!)
Josiah Belden 1850-51 Thomas White 1851-54 O. H. Allen 1854-55 Sherman Otis Houghton 1855-56 Lawrence Archer 1856 John M. Murphy 1856 George Givens 1856-57 Ranson G. Moody 1857-58 Peter O. Minor 1858-59 Thomas Fallon 1859-60 Richard B. Buckner 1860-61 Joseph W. Johnson 1861-63 John Alonzo Quinby 1863-68 Mark Leavenworth 1868-70 Adolph Pfister 1870-73 Bernard D. Murphy 1873-77 George B. McKee 1877-78 Lawrence Archer 1878-80 Bernard D. Murphy 1880-82 Charles J. Martin 1882-84 Campbell Thompson Settle 1884-86 Samuel N. Rucker as of 1892 C. W. Davison as of 1909 F. R. Husted as of 1914 Richard French as of 1937 Al Ruffo 1946-48 Clark L. Bradley as of 1952 Parker L. Hathaway as of 1953-54 George A. Starbird as of 1955 Louis S. Solari as of 1960 Ronald R. James 1966-70 Norman Y. Mineta as of 1971-74

Postmasters at San Jose, 1849-1964 (may be incomplete!)
J. D. Hoppe 1849-51 John R. Wilson 1851-53 John W. Patrick 1853-56 Peter O. Minor 1856 Charles E. Allen 1856-61 Simon M. Cutler 1861-70 Charles G. Thomas 1870-73 E. A. Clark 1873-77 Sanfier B. Anderson 1877-78 Daniel C. Bailey 1878-86 Samuel H. Wagener 1886-90 Thomas Kelley 1890-94 John W. Ryland 1894-99 William G. Hawley 1899-1912 Irvin A. Ball 1912 John R. Chace 1912-13 Byron Millard 1913-22 John R. Chace 1922-31 John D. Chace 1931-32 John D. Chace 1932-37 Joseph Anthony Chargin, Jr. 1937 Joseph Anthony Chargin, Jr. 1937-54 Lionel J. Worden 1954 Lionel J. Worden 1954-59 Joseph Pizzo 1959-60 John Serpa 1960-61 William H. Lawrence 1961-62 William H. Lawrence 1962-64

(annexed to San Jose in 1968)

Town Presidents of Alviso, 1913 (may be incomplete!)
P. B. Martin as of 1913

Postmasters at Alviso, 1854-1976 (may be incomplete!)
Augustus Rathbone 1854-55 Richard Carr 1859-61 John Berry 1861-65 Hiram B. Fairchild 1865-68 David R. Tilden 1868-73 Mary A. Wade 1873-89 Miles Hollister 1889-1915 Belle H. Davee 1915-40 Stanley H. Perkins 1940 Stanley H. Perkins 1940-76

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/sanjose.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]