The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of San Diego, California

Mayors of San Diego, 1850-2006 (may be incomplete!)
Joshua Bean 1850-51 David B. Kurtz 1851-52 George P. Tebbetts 1852 William J. Hunsaker 1888-89 Douglas Gunn 1889-91 Mathew Sherman 1891-93 William H. Carlson 1893-97 Daniel C. Reed 1897-99 Edwin M. Capps 1899-1901 Frank P. Frary 1901-05 John L. Sehon 1905-07 John F. Forward, Sr. 1907-09 Conard Grant 1909-11 James E. Wadham 1911-13 Charles F. O'Neill 1913-15 Edwin M. Capps 1915-17 Louis J. Wilde 1917-21 John L. Bacon 1921-27 Harry C. Clark 1927-31 Walter W. Austin 1931-32 John F. Forward, Jr. 1932-34 Rutherford B. Irones 1934-35 Percy J. Benbough 1935-42 Howard B. Bard 1942-43 Harley E. Knox 1943-51 John D. Butler 1951-55 Charles C. Dail 1955-63 Frank E. Curran 1963-71 Pete Wilson 1971-82 William E. Cleator, Sr. 1983 Roger Hedgecock 1983-85 Maureen O'Connor 1985-92 Susan Golding 1992-2000 Dick Murphy 2001-05 Michael J. Zucchet 2005 Toni G. Atkins 2005 Jerry Sanders 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1887: Daniel C. Reed, defeated.
  • 1932: C. Leon de Aryan, defeated.
  • 1934 Aug 22: John F. Forward, Jr., resigned; Rutherford B. Irones, appointed.
  • 1942 Nov 4: Percy J. Benbough, died in office.
  • 1942 Nov 30: Howard B. Bard, appointed.
  • 1963: Helen Cobb, defeated in primary.
  • 1963: Frank E. Curran, elected.
  • 1979: Simon Casady, defeated.
  • 1983: William E. Cleator, Sr., defeated.
  • 1984: Richard W. Carlson, defeated.
  • 1986: William E. Cleator, Sr., defeated.
  • 2000: Dick Murphy, elected.
  • 2004: Dick Murphy, elected; Donna Frye, defeated.
  • 2005 Jul 15: Dick Murphy, resigned.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Jerry Sanders, elected; Donna Frye, defeated.

    Postmasters at San Diego, 1871-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Columbus Dunham 1871-76 Daniel Choate 1876-81 Henry H. Burton 1881 George D. Copeland 1881-85 Gustave William Jorres 1885-87 Allen D. Norman 1887-90 Howard M. Kutchin 1890-94 Richard V. Dodge 1894-98 Moses A. Luce 1898-1902 John N. Newkirk 1902-08 Charles H. Bartholomew 1908-17 Lucius R. Barrow 1917-21 Ernest W. Dort 1921-34 Donald M. Stewart 1934-35 Donald M. Stewart 1935-48 William E. Krenning 1948-49 William E. Krenning 1949-59 V. Earl Roberts 1959-61 Ralph S. Colonell 1961 Ralph S. Colonell 1961-76

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/sandiego.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]