The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of San Bernardino, California

Mayors of San Bernardino, 1909-2013 (may be incomplete!)
S. W. McNabb 1909-11 Joseph S. Bright 1911 J. W. Catick as of 1914-18 John A. Henderson as of 1919-23 C. T. Johnson as of 1937 George C. Blair as of 1952-55 Raymond H. Gregory as of 1960 Judith Valles as of 2003

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1911 Mar 14: Joseph S. Bright (Dem), nominated; C. A. Rouse (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1911 Mar 14: Ralph E. Swing (Rep), nominated; Joseph S. Bright (Rep), defeated in primary; C. A. Rouse (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1911 Apr 11: Joseph S. Bright (Dem), elected; N. A. Richardson (Socialist), defeated; Ralph E. Swing (Rep), defeated.
  • 1919 Apr 14: John A. Henderson, elected; Cecil H. Phillips, defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Virginia Marquez, elected; Esther R. Estrada, defeated.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Wendy J. McCammack, elected; Carey Davis, defeated; Rick Avila, defeated; Rikke Van Johnson, defeated; H. W. Nickel, defeated; Richard T. Castro, defeated; Draymond Crawford, defeated; Charles A. Kelley, defeated; Matt Korner, defeated; Karmel Roe, defeated.

    Postmasters at San Bernardino, 1852-1978 (may be incomplete!)
    Richard R. Hopkins 1852-55 Daniel M. Thomas 1855-58 Ben Barton 1858-61 Thomas Dickey 1861-64 James C. Peacock 1864-80 William R. Porter 1880-87 John T. Knox 1887-89 Nelson G. Gill 1889-94 James H. Boyd 1894-98 Stephen F. Kelley 1898-1914 Ernest Martin 1914-23 Sherman G. Batchelor 1923-35 Ernest Martin 1935 Ernest Martin 1935-39 Harold P. Thoreson 1939-40 Harold P. Thoreson 1940-42 Walter J. Sullivan 1942-46 Harold P. Thoreson 1946-47 Kenneth W. Dyal 1947-49 Kenneth W. Dyal 1949-54 Russell K. Bates 1954-56 Russell K. Bates 1956-58 Ralph W. Davis 1958-59 Ralph W. Davis 1959-61 Royce E. Barnette 1961-63 Royce E. Barnette 1963-65 Jack K. Lewis 1965-67 Jack K. Lewis 1967-78

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/sanbernardino.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]