The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Oakland, California

Mayors of Oakland, 1854-2011 (may be incomplete!)
Horace W. Carpentier 1854-55 Charles Campbell 1855-56 S. H. Robinson 1856-57 Andrew Williams 1857-59 Francis K. Shattuck 1859-60 J. P. M. Davis 1860-62 George M. Blake 1862-63 W. H. Bovee 1863-64 Edward Gibbons 1864-65 B. F. Ferris 1865-66 John W. Dwinelle 1866-67 William W. Crane, Jr. 1867-68 Samuel Merritt 1868-69 John B. Felton 1869-70 Nathan W. Spaulding 1870-73 Henry Durant 1873-75 Mack Weber 1875-76 Enoch H. Pardee 1876-78 Washburne R. Andrus 1878-80 James E. Blethen 1880-82 Charles K. Robinson 1882-83 J. West Martin 1883-84 Ashmun C. Henry 1884-85 Eli W. Playter 1885-87 William R. Davis 1887-88 Charles Dexter Pierce 1888-89 John R. Glascock 1889-91 Melvin C. Chapman 1891-93 George C. Pardee 1893-95 John L. Davie 1895-97 W. R. Thomas 1897-99 Roland W. Snow 1899-1901 Anson Barstow 1901-03 Warren Olney 1903-05 Frank K. Mott 1905-15 John L. Davie 1915-31 Fred N. Morcom 1931-33 William J. McCracken 1933-41 John F. Slavich 1941-45 Herbert L. Beach 1945-47 Joseph E. Smith 1947-49 Clifford E. Rishell 1949-61 John Houlihan 1961-66 John H. Reading 1966-77 Lionel J. Wilson 1977-91 Elihu M. Harris 1991-99 Edmund G. Brown, Jr. 1999-2007 Ronald V. Dellums 2007-11

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1854 Apr 17: Horace W. Carpentier, elected; S. J. Clark, defeated.
  • 1875 Jan 22: Henry Durant, died in office.
  • 1895 Mar 11: John L. Davie (Populist), elected.
  • 1901 Mar 11: Anson Barstow (Rep), elected; Walter G. Manuel (Municipal League), defeated; John L. Davie (Ind), defeated; Warren B. English (Dem), defeated; Jack London (Social Democratic), defeated; Allen Shorkley (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1903 Mar 9: Warren Olney (Dem & Rep & Municipal League), elected; E. L. Bair (Union Labor), defeated; Robert Vincent (Socialist), defeated; Z. T. Gilpin (Independent Republican), defeated; S. B. Littlepage (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1905 Mar 13: Frank K. Mott (Fusion), elected; John L. Davie (Ind), defeated; George Randolph (Union Labor), defeated; Jack London (Socialist), defeated; Thomas H. Montgomery (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1907 Mar 11: Frank K. Mott (Fusion), elected; Owen H. Philbrick (Socialist), defeated; A. G. Daly (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1966 Feb 1: John Houlihan, resigned.
  • 1973 Apr 17: Bobby Seale, advanced to runoff.
  • 1973 May 15: Bobby Seale, defeated.

    Postmasters at Oakland, 1855-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas Gallagher 1855-58 George M. Yard 1858-73 John E. Benton 1873-79 Edwin P. Marsellus 1879-83 William E. Dargie 1883-87 James L. Hanna 1887-90 Amasa W. Bishop 1890-94 James J. White 1894-98 William H. Friend 1898-1902 Thomas T. Dargie 1902-07 Paul Schafer 1907-15 Joseph J. Rosborough 1915-24 John F. Conners 1924-28 William Nat Friend 1928-33 Nellie G. Donohoe 1933-34 Nellie G. Donohoe 1934-41 Stephen E. Graham 1941-44 Stephen E. Graham 1944-50 Joseph W. Chaudet 1950-53 Charles R. Gainor 1953-54 Charles C. Herrick 1954-55 Charles C. Herrick 1955-61 Kenneth E. Francis 1961 Kenneth E. Francis 1961-62 John F. Bushell 1962-63 John F. Bushell 1963-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/oakland.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]