The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Glendale, California
Mayors, City Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Glendale, 1921-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Spencer Robinson 1921-25 H. G. MacBain 1925-29 C. E. Kimlin 1929-31 Frank P. Taggart 1931-33 Joseph F. Baudino 1933-35 Lawrence E. Olson 1935-37 Joseph F. Baudino 1937-39 William J. Goss 1939-41 Archie L. Walters 1941-43 Lawrence E. Olson 1943-44 Archie McWilliam 1944-45 Albert C. Lane 1945-47 George A. Campbell 1947 Joseph F. Baudino 1947-48 Robert C. Wian 1948-49 George R. Wickham 1949-51 Paul L. Burkhard 1951-53 Harold E. Wright 1953-55 John M. Lawson 1955-57 Zelma Bogue 1957-59 E. C. Cannon 1959-61 William Howard Peters 1961-63 Herman E. Barnes 1963-65 William Howard Peters 1965-67 Kenneth R. Stephens 1967-69 Warren F. Haverkamp 1969-70 James W. Perkins 1970-71 Vern E. Allen 1971-72 Donald A. McWilliam 1972-73 Carl Meseck 1973-74 Vern E. Allen 1974 Carl Meseck 1974-75 Richard A. Garcia 1975-76 Warren F. Haverkamp 1976-77 Carroll W. Parcher 1977-78 Robert W. Garcia 1978-79 Carroll W. Parcher 1979-81 John F. Day 1981-82 Robert W. Garcia 1982-83 Ginger Bremberg 1983-84 Carroll W. Parcher 1984-85 Jerold F. Milner 1985-86 Larry Zarian 1986-87 Ginger Bremberg 1987-88 Carl Raggio 1988-89 Jerold F. Milner 1989-90 Larry Zarian 1990-91 Ginger Bremberg 1991-92 Carl Raggio 1992-93 Larry Zarian 1993-94 Eileen Givens 1994-95 Richard M. Reyes 1995-96 Sheldon S. Baker 1996-97 Larry Zarian 1997-98 Eileen Givens 1998-99 Ginger Bremberg 1999-2000 David G. Weaver 2000-01 Gus Gomez 2001-02 Rafi Manoukian 2002-03 Frank Quintero 2003-04 Bob Yousefian 2004-05 Rafi Manoukian 2005-06 David G. Weaver 2006-07 Ara Najarian 2007-08 John Drayman 2008-09 Frank Quintero 2009-10 Ara Najarian 2010-11 Laura Friedman 2011-12 Frank Quintero 2012-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1944 Nov 14: Lawrence E. Olson, resigned.

    City Presidents of Glendale, 1906-21 (may be incomplete!)
    Wilmot Parcher 1906-08 T. W. Watson 1908-10 J. R. White, Jr. 1910-12 T. W. Watson 1912-14 O. A. Lane 1914-16 Joseph S. Thompson 1916-18 G. B. Woodbury 1918-19 F. L. Muhleman 1919-20 Hartley Shaw 1920 Dwight Stephenson 1920-21

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1919: G. B. Woodbury, resigned.
  • 1920: Hartley Shaw, resigned.

    Postmasters at Glendale, 1891-1991 (may be incomplete!)
    George F. Dutton 1891-92 Elias Ayers 1892-95 Herbert French 1895-97 Charles V. Bogue 1897-1900 Frank G. Taylor 1900-04 Mabel L. Hackman 1904-06 Asa V. Fausett 1906-09 Dwight Ripley Jackson 1921-27 Edwin F. Heisser 1927-35 Max Lynn Green 1935 Max Lynn Green 1935-60 Charles L. Grover 1960 Paul B. Boyd 1960-61 Harold L. Hemmingsen 1961-63 Harold L. Hemmingsen 1963-91

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/glendale.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]