The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fremont, California
including Centerville
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Fremont, 1956-2014 (may be incomplete!)
Jack Stevenson 1956-58 Michael Overacker 1958-60 Jack Stevenson 1960-61 Carl Flegal 1961-62 Jack Parry 1962-64 Don Dillon 1964-67 Geoffrey Steel as of 1967-69 Gene Rhodes as of 1969-71 Bill van Doorn 1971-72 Jack A. Pimentel 1972-74 Don Dillon 1974-75 Gene Rhodes 1978-80 Leon J. Mezzetti 1980-85 Gus Morrison 1985-89 William Ball 1989-94 Gus Morrison 1994-2004 Robert Wasserman 2004-11 Gus Morrison 2012 Bill Harrison 2012-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1978 Mar 7: Gene Rhodes, elected; Jack A. Pimentel, defeated; Marilyn Blawie, defeated; Andrew S. J. Pomykalski, defeated; Vernon Kennerson, defeated.
  • 1980 Apr 8: Leon J. Mezzetti, elected; Gus Morrison, defeated; Vince Cue, defeated; Gertrude Turner, defeated.
  • 1982 Apr 13: Leon J. Mezzetti, elected; Jack A. Pimentel, defeated; Orbia Camacho, defeated; Jan Stillwell, defeated.
  • 1985 Nov 5: Gus Morrison, elected; Leon J. Mezzetti, defeated; Yoshio Y. Fujiwara, defeated.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Gus Morrison, elected; Joan Myrick, defeated; Brenda Barao, defeated.
  • 1989 Nov 7: William Ball, elected; Gus Morrison, defeated; Jack A. Pimentel, defeated; Tim Rollisson, defeated; Linda Susoev, defeated.
  • 1991 Nov 5: William Ball, elected; Bob Hall, defeated; Lindy G. Batara, defeated; Linda Susoev, defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Gus Morrison, elected; William Ball, defeated; Linda Susoev, defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Gus Morrison, elected; Robert Wasserman, defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Gus Morrison, elected; Matt Edwards, defeated; Linda Susoev, defeated.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Robert Wasserman, elected; Bill Pease, defeated.
  • 2008 Nov 4: Robert Wasserman, elected; Steve Cho, defeated; Gus Morrison, defeated; Paul Reeder, defeated.
  • 2011 Dec 29: Robert Wasserman, died in office.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Bill Harrison, elected; Steve Cho, defeated; Anu Natarajan, defeated; Aziz Akbari, defeated; Linda Susoev, defeated.

    Postmasters at Fremont, 1956-72 (may be incomplete!)
    Manuel W. Lewis 1956-62 Frank Paul Siatt 1962-63 Frank Paul Siatt 1963-72

    (merged into Fremont, 1956)

    Postmasters at Centerville, 1893-1956 (may be incomplete!)
    Frank T. Dusterberry 1893-98 Samuel C. Archibald 1898-1902 Frank T. Hawes 1902-26 Adeline M. Rogers 1926 Adeline M. Santos 1926-34 Manuel W. Lewis 1934-35 Manuel W. Lewis 1935-56

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/fremont.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]