The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Chico, California

Mayors of Chico, 1923-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Clarence Colin Richardson 1923-27 Archie Robert Waters 1927-29 Stephen Levi Bainbridge 1929-33 Othel Kilpatric 1933-35 John Vaughan 1935-37 Stephen Levi Bainbridge 1937-38 Thomas Richards 1938-39 Frank William Seydel 1939-41 E. L. Meyers 1941-43 Earl Bevins 1943-49 Theodore Meriam 1949-59 Marsh C. Pine as of 1960 Ross Lawler 1961-63 Harry McGowan 1963-67 Gordon Casamajor 1967-71 William Nichols 1971-73 Eugene Ringel 1973-75 Ronald Stewart 1975-77 James Evans 1979-81 Margaret Worley 1981-83 Karl Ory 1983-85 Georgie Willis 1985-86 Charles Nelson 1986-88 Shelton Enochs 1988-90 Mary Andrews 1990-92 James Owens 1992-94 Michael D. McGinnis 1994-96 Rick Keene 1997-98 Steve Bertagna 1998-2000 Dan Herbert 2000-02 Maureen Kirk 2002-04 Scott Gruendl 2004-06 Andrew Holcombe 2006-08 Ann Schwab 2008-12 Mary Goloff 2012-13 Scott Gruendl 2013-14 Mark F. Sorenson 2014-

Postmasters at Chico, 1887-1905 (may be incomplete!)
R. McG. Jones as of 1887 W. W. Wilson as of 1901 J. W. Magee as of 1903-05

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/chico.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]