The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Little Rock, Arkansas

Mayors of Little Rock, 1832-2003 (may be incomplete!)
Matthew Cunningham 1832 William W. Stephenson 1833 Elijah A. More 1834 David Fulton 1835 James Pitcher 1835-37 Jesse Brown 1838-40 Samuel H. Webb 1841 John Widgery 1842 Samuel G. Trowbridge 1842-43 Thomas S. Reynolds 1843 Eli Colby 1843 William Brown, Sr. 1844 Lambert J. Reardon 1845-46 R. L. Dodge 1847 Samuel H. Webb 1848-49 Roswell Beebe 1849-50 D. J. Baldwin 1850 John E. Knight 1851 A. J. Hutt 1852-53 Thomas D. Merrick 1854 C. P. Bertrand 1855-56 William E. Ashley 1857-58 Gordon N. Peay 1859-60 William E. Ashley 1861-63 J. J. McAlmont 1866 J. W. Hopkins 1867 John Wassell 1868 A. K. Hartman 1869-70 J. G. Botsford 1870 Robert F. Catterson 1871-73 Frederick Kramer 1873-75 John G. Fletcher 1875-81 Frederick Kramer 1881-87 William G. Whipple 1887-91 H. L. Fletcher 1891-93 M. G. Hall 1893-95 J. A. Woodson 1895-1900 W. R. Duley 1900-03 W. E. Lenon 1903-08 John H. Hollis 1908 W. R. Duley 1908-11 Charles E. Taylor 1911-19 Ben D. Brickhouse 1919-25 Charles E. Moyer 1925-29 Pat L. Robinson 1929-31 Horace A. Knowlton 1931-35 R. E. Overman 1935-39 J. V. Satterfield, Jr. 1939-41 Charles E. Moyer 1941-45 Dan T. Sprick 1945-47 Sam M. Wassell 1947-51 Pratt C. Remmel 1952-55 Woodrow Wilson Mann 1956-57 Werner C. Knoop 1957-62 Byron R. Morse 1963-64 Harold Henson, Jr. 1965-66 Martin Borchert 1967-68 Haco Boyd 1969-70 George E. Wimberly 1971-72 William H. Walters 1973-74 George E. Wimberly 1975-76 Donald L. Mehlberger 1977-78 A. M. 'Sandy' Keith 1979 Webster L. Hubbell 1979-81 Charles Bussey 1981-82 J. W. 'Buddy' Benefield 1982-85 Thomas A. Prince 1985-87 Lottie H. Shackelford 1987-91 Sharon Priest 1991-93 Jim Dailey 1994-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1842 May 24: John Widgery, resigned.
  • 1843 Jan 4: Samuel G. Trowbridge, resigned.
  • 1843 Sep 12: Thomas S. Reynolds, resigned.
  • 1849 Apr 19: Samuel H. Webb, resigned.
  • 1850 Feb 13: D. J. Baldwin, resigned.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Pratt C. Remmel (Rep), elected; Sam M. Wassell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1953 Nov 3: Pratt C. Remmel (Rep), elected; Aubrey Kerr (Dem), defeated.
  • 1955: Woodrow Wilson Mann (Dem), elected.
  • 1979 Jul 1: A. M. 'Sandy' Keith, resigned.
  • 1981 Jul 14: Webster L. Hubbell, resigned.

    Postmasters at Little Rock, 1820-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Amos Wheeler 1820-21 Henry W. Conway 1821-23 Thomas W. Newton 1823-30 John T. Fulton 1830-31 William Field 1831-35 John T. Fulton 1835-38 David Fulton 1838 Samuel H. Hempstead 1838-39 Barnett Williams 1839-45 William E. Woodruff 1845-46 Lambert J. Reardon 1846-49 William F. Pope 1849-55 John E. Reardon 1855-57 Thomas J. Churchill 1857-61 William F. Pope 1861-64 James S. Pollock 1864-70 James L. Hodges 1870-71 James S. Pollock 1871-75 Joseph Brooks 1875-77 Ozra A. Hadley 1877-81 Brewster Cameron 1881 Rollin A. Edgerton 1881-86 Thomas W. Newton 1886-89 Rollin A. Edgerton 1889-93 James Mitchell 1893-97 Winfield S. Holt 1897-1910 Ulysses S. Bratton 1910-13 William E. Floyd 1913-21 James A. Ginocchio 1921 James A. Ginocchio 1921-29 Albert E. Townsend 1929-30 Albert E. Townsend 1930-33 Nell Remmel 1933 Charles C. Kavanaugh 1933-34 Charles C. Kavanaugh 1934-38 Ewilda M. Robinson 1938-39 Ewilda M. Robinson 1939-53 Albert E. Townsend 1953-54 Irel C. Bellville 1954 Irel C. Bellville 1954-61 Roy L. Sharpe 1961 Cecil E. McSwain, Jr. 1961-63 Roy L. Sharpe 1963-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/ofc/littlerock.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]