The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Mayors of Tuscaloosa, 1839-2005 (may be incomplete!)
William R. Smith 1839 Joseph C. Guild 1850-54 Joseph C. Guild 1866-68 Luther Davis as of 1937 J. S. Robertson as of 1952 J. Hal McCall as of 1953-56 George Van Tassel as of 1957-60 Alvin P. DuPont as of 2005

Postmasters at Tuscaloosa, 1822-1972 (may be incomplete!)
William P. Gould 1822-24 Leven Powell 1824-33 Washington Moody 1833-36 Samuel G. Frierson 1836-41 William D. Marrast 1841-60 Joseph C. Guild 1860-65 Robert Blair 1865-75 William Miller 1875-84 J. R. Horner 1884-85 William H. Wilds 1885-86 William H. Wilds 1886-90 William Miller 1890-91 Thomas H. Miller 1891-93 Richard C. M. Calla 1893-97 Margaret Miller 1897-1906 Margaret Miller 1906-10 Robert B. Dugger 1910-14 Ernest A. Townsend 1914 Samuel F. Clabaugh 1914-19 Ernest A. Townsend 1919-20 Ernest A. Townsend 1920-24 John F. Morton 1924-25 John F. Morton 1925-33 Karl Ebash 1933-34 Annie Townsend 1934-40 Henry M. McLeod 1940-53 Sam P. Evans 1953-55 Roy Wesley Rhodes 1955-58 Roy Wesley Rhodes 1958-72

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/ofc/tuscaloosa.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]