The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Montgomery, Alabama

Mayors of Montgomery, 1838-2008 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel Doak Holt as of 1838 Jack Thorington as of 1839-40 Samuel Doak Holt as of 1852 W. T. Robertson as of 1919 W. A. Gunter as of 1937 William A. Gayle as of 1952-59 Earl D. James as of 1960 Bobby N. Bright 1999-2008

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1999: Bobby N. Bright, elected.
  • 2003: Bobby N. Bright, elected.

    Postmasters at Montgomery, 1820-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    John Falconer 1820-34 Neill Blue 1834-49 Martin Pond 1849-53 Thomas Welch 1853 Matthew P. Blue 1853-57 Thomas Welch 1857-61 William J. Bibb 1865-69 Joseph W. Dimmick 1869-73 Alexander P. Wilson 1873-75 John J. Martin 1875-79 Paul Strobach 1879 Israel W. Roberts 1879-81 Charles W. Buckley 1881-85 George C. Clisby 1885-90 Charles W. Buckley 1890-93 William W. Screws 1893-97 Charles W. Buckley 1897-1906 Joseph P. Dimmick 1906-14 Clement T. Fitzpatrick 1914-22 Edgar H. Kline 1922-23 John B. Patterson 1923 Roy A. Lifsey 1923-24 Roy A. Lifsey 1924-33 Roy L. Nolen 1933-34 Roy L. Nolen 1934-50 Roy L. Nolen, Jr. 1950-52 Roy L. Nolen, Jr. 1952-53 Charles D. Moore 1953-54 Charles D. Moore 1954-62 David E. Dunn 1962-63 David E. Dunn 1963-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/ofc/montgomery.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]