The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Huntsville, Alabama
Mayors, Postmasters, U.S. Land Office officials

Mayors of Huntsville, 1829-2005 (may be incomplete!)
James G. Birney as of 1829 A. W. McAllister as of 1952 Robert B. Searcy as of 1953-60 Loretta Spencer as of 2003-05

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1964: John L. Cashin, Jr., defeated.
  • 2004: Parker Griffith, defeated.

    Postmasters at Huntsville, 1811-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Peter Perkins 1811-16 Stockley D. Hutchings 1816-18 Richard B. Purdon 1818-20 John P. Neale 1820-25 William Atwood 1825-36 Daniel B. Turner 1836-41 Miles Selden Watkins 1841 George Cox 1841-45 Daniel B. Turner 1845-47 William A. Nunnally 1847-49 Joseph J. Pitman 1849-53 Cortez D. Kavanaugh 1853-57 William J. Windham 1857-61 Henry Barham 1865 Joseph J. Pitman 1865-69 Gilbert M. L. Johnson 1869-71 De Witt C. Rugg 1871-72 Isaac D. Sibley 1872-80 John S. Reed 1880-87 Mary L. Clay 1887-89 Bernard F. Ludwig 1889-93 Joseph T. McGehee 1893-98 William T. Hutchens 1898-1914 Robert L. O'Neal 1914-23 Stephen H. Murphy 1923-24 Stephen H. Murphy 1924-35 Louie Glenn Collier 1935-36 Louie Glenn Collier 1936-68 Grady D. Cope 1968-72

    Registers of U.S. Land Office at Huntsville, 1816 (may be incomplete!)
    John Read as of 1816

    Receivers of U.S. Land Office at Huntsville, 1816 (may be incomplete!)
    John Brahan as of 1816

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/ofc/huntsville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]