The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Birmingham, Alabama
including Elyton, Ensley
Mayors, Commission Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Birmingham, 1871-2018 (may be incomplete!)
Robert Henley 1871-73 James Robert Powell 1873-75 William Harrington Morris 1875-78 Henry M. Caldwell 1878 Thomas Jeffers 1878-82 A. O. Lane 1882-88 B. A. Thompson 1888-90 A. O. Lane 1890-92 David J. Fox 1892-94 James A. Van Hoose 1894-96 Frank V. Evans 1896-99 Mel Drennen 1899-1905 George B. Ward 1905-08 Frank P. O'Brien 1908-10 Culpepper Exum 1910-13 Albert Boutwell 1963-67 George G. Seibels, Jr. 1967-75 David Vann 1975-79 Richard Arrington, Jr. 1979-99 William A. Bell 1999 Bernard Kincaid 1999-2007 Larry Langford 2007-09 Carole Smitherman 2009 Roderick Royal 2009-10 William A. Bell 2010-17 Randall Woodfin 2017-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1871 Dec 19: Robert Henley, appointed.
  • 1873 Apr 22: Robert Henley, died in office.
  • 1903: George B. Ward, defeated.
  • 1905: George B. Ward, elected.
  • 1907: George B. Ward, elected.
  • 1963 Apr 2: Bull Connor, defeated.
  • 1967 Oct 31: George G. Seibels, Jr., elected; George Young, defeated.
  • 1971: George G. Seibels, Jr., elected; George Young, defeated.
  • 1975: George G. Seibels, Jr., defeated; David Vann, elected.
  • 1979: Richard Arrington, Jr., elected.

    Commission Presidents of Birmingham, 1913-63 (may be incomplete!)
    Culpepper Exum 1913 George B. Ward 1913-17 Nathaniel A. Barrett 1917-21 David E. McClendon 1921-25 James M. Jones, Jr. 1925-40 W. Cooper Green 1940-53 James W. Morgan 1953-61 Art Hanes, Sr. 1961-63

    Postmasters at Birmingham, 1871-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    William Ketcham 1871-72 Monroe Sanders 1872 Thomas E. Warren 1872-74 Thomas U. Green 1874-83 Alice Green 1883-84 Thomas U. Green 1884-85 Samuel S. Thompson 1885-86 Henry J. Winn 1886-87 Maurice B. Throckmorton 1887-88 Robert L. Houston 1889-93 William B. Copeland 1893-97 James W. Hughes 1897-1905 J. Rivers Carter 1905-10 Joseph H. Montgomery 1910-11 George C. Oliver 1911 Truman H. Aldrich 1911-15 Rufus B. Smyer 1915-24 John G. Bass 1924 John G. Bass 1924-33 W. Cooper Green 1933-34 W. Cooper Green 1934-40 Arthur H. Allbright 1940-42 Arthur H. Allbright 1942-54 James Roy Moncus 1954-55 James Roy Moncus 1955-62 Ersie F. Palmer 1962-63 Ersie F. Palmer 1963-70

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1888 Dec 8: Maurice B. Throckmorton, died in office.

    (annexed to Birmingham in 1910)

    Mayors of Elyton, 1907-09 (may be incomplete!)
    Frank W. Smith 1907-09

    Postmasters at Elyton, 1879-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel Thompson as of 1879 Carrie C. Wood as of 1901

    (annexed to Birmingham in 1910)

    Postmasters at Ensley, 1901-11 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas B. Lawler as of 1901 John X. Thomas as of 1911

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/ofc/birmingham.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]