The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Postmasters of Sitka, Alaska

Postmasters at Sitka, 1867-1972 (may be incomplete!)
John H. Kinkead 1867-69 John A. Fuller 1869-71 William Phillipson 1871-77 Theodore Haltern 1877-78 Fannie E. Kellogg 1878 Sallie L. Ball 1878-81 Alonzo E. Austin 1881 Ellen Brown 1881-83 Walter B. Styles 1883-85 Henrietta Cohen 1885 Sallie L. Ball 1885-87 Maurice E. Kenealy 1887-90 Paulina Cohen 1890-96 Paulina Archangelsky 1896-1901 Frank Woodcock 1901-04 Sidney E. Flower 1904-10 Robert W. DeArmond 1910-18 Marie T. Dunklee 1918-20 M. Louise Johnson 1920 M. Louise Johnson 1920-21 Joe McNulty 1921-22 Elizabeth D. DeArmond 1922-35 James H. Gilpatrick 1935-38 Lydia O. Tilson 1939-40 Lydia O. Tilson 1940-61 Frederick J. Baughn 1961-62 Frederick J. Baughn 1962-72

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1877: William Phillipson, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AK/ofc/sitka.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]