The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Juneau, Alaska
including Douglas
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Juneau, 1900-2000 (may be incomplete!)
Arthur K. Delaney 1900-01 George F. Forrest 1901-02 Ohlin H. Adsit 1902-04 George F. Forrest 1904-05 John F. Maloney 1905-06 Herman T. Tripp 1906-07 George F. Forrest 1907-08 Emery Valentine 1908-12 Harry A. Bishop 1912-13 Charles W. Carter 1913-14 John Reck 1914-16 B. D. Stewart 1916-17 Emery Valentine 1917-19 J. Latimer Gray 1919-20 Ralph E. Robertson 1920-23 I. Goldstein 1923-25 James J. Connors 1925-27 Thomas B. Judson 1927-33 I. Goldstein 1933-37 Thomas B. Judson 1937-38 Harry I. Lucas 1938-44 A. B. 'Cot' Hayes 1944-45 Ernest Parsons 1945-46 Waino E. Hendrickson 1946-53 Bert F. McDowell 1953-55 Morrell L. MacSpadden 1955-59 Lauris S. Parker 1959-61 J. Wayne Johnson 1961 A. W. Boddy 1961 Lauris S. Parker 1961-67 Timothy O'Day 1967 Joseph George 1967-69 Joseph A. McLean 1969-73 William A. Macomber 1973-75 Virginia Kline 1975-76 W. D. 'Bill' Overstreet 1976-83 Fran Ulmer 1983-85 Ernest E. Polley 1985-88 Bruce Botelho 1988-90 Jamie Parsons 1990-94 Byron I. Mallott 1994-95 Dennis Egan 1995-2000 Sally Smith 2000-

Postmasters at Juneau, 1882-1971 (may be incomplete!)
Edward DeGroff 1882 William L. Minturn 1882-83 Daniel H. Murphy 1883-85 James C. Stitt 1885-89 Charles E. Coon 1889-91 Joseph T. Field 1891-93 Henry J. Harrison 1893-94 Richard P. Nelson 1894-1900 John J. C. Barber 1900-03 Ernest J. Brooks 1903-08 John T. Spickett 1908-12 Earle L. Hunter 1912-16 Zina M. Bradford 1916-24 Charles W. Carter 1924-26 Josephine C. Spickett 1926-35 Albert Wile 1935 Albert Wile 1935-42 Lillian Gertrude Mill 1943-44 Crystal S. Jenne 1944-55 Margaret E. White 1955-56 Margaret E. White 1956-63 Corrine J. Kenway 1963-64 Katherine D. Nordale 1964 Katherine D. Nordale 1964-71

(consolidated with Juneau in 1970)

Mayors of Douglas, 1902-70 (may be incomplete!)
Charles Hopp 1902-03 Frank Bach 1903-04 Charles Hopp 1904-05 William Stubbins 1905-07 M. S. Hudson 1907-08 M. J. O'Connor 1908-12 William Stubbins 1912-13 M. J. O'Connor 1913-15 Peter Johnson 1915-16 M. J. O'Connor 1916-17 Elmer Smith 1917-20 F. A. J. Gallwas 1920-21 James Cristae 1921-23 F. A. J. Gallwas 1923-25 J. O. Kirkham 1925-26 Nels Anderson 1926-28 J. R. Guerin 1928-29 L. W. Kilburn 1929-32 John Feusi 1932-33 Guy Smith 1933-34 Albert Goetz 1934-37 L. W. Kilburn 1937-41 Robert Bonner, Jr. 1941-42 Erwin Hachmeister 1942-43 Elton E. Engstrom 1943-44 James Parsons 1944-45 Marcus F. Jensen 1945-47 Mike Pusich 1947-53 William Boehl 1953-61 Marcus F. Jensen 1961-64 Guy Russo 1964-69 Robert Savikko 1969-70

Postmasters at Douglas, 1889-1911 (may be incomplete!)
Patrick H. Fox as of 1889 Robert R. Hubbard as of 1901-11

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AK/ofc/juneau.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]